We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal in St. John's!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Get Stuffed

Get Stuffed
Ranked #13 of 371 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $21
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great meal in St. John's!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Our meal at Get Stuffed was one of the best we had while in Newfoundland! Everything from the service to the quality of the food was excellent! The service was amazing, the staff was very friendly, super helpful, and very knowledgeable. The food was very tasty, especially the stuff pork and the glazed carrots. They have a good selection of wine and local brews. We had the bread pudding for dessert, and it was very good! Overall I would go to this place again and again if we lived in St. John's!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank randydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    127
    38
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
250 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Better than average but just!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This place probably deserved 3.5 stars but that is not an option on TA. Anyway the menu here can be little confusing as there is always extras and even when they say your entrée comes with a side it probably doesn't so you will have to order one of their sides to go with it. The salad was good, of the mains we had, the duck was a little disappointing, my wife had a pasta dish that was one of the daily specials which was good. For dessert we shared a bread pudding and honestly I have had better. We had a very nice table with a great view and the service was okay but they forgot my drink order. Overall I expect this place can be better and we probably just hit some dishes that underwhelmed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NLtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Left much to be desired...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Came her in September 2013. My partner and I had a drink, apetizer, entree and dessert each. Compared to other higher end restaurants in Downtown St. John's it did not meet up to my expectations and left much to be desired unfortunately.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We arrived about 5:30 and were seated immediately at an upstairs table by the window - a nice view of Duckworth street below us. The server was very helpful with the menu - everything is a la carte. You can order a regular portion, or a "get stuffed" portion - enough for two. We wanted different meals so went with the regular size. My husband had fish stew, I had grilled salmon with fruit salsa and extra grilled vegetables. The food was very good as was the service. It's a casual atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RMB-SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First night on Newfoundland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

What a great way to start our month long stay. Our dinner was absolutely delicious. We had the fish stew soup , the fresh Newfoundland cod and a side dish of corn and mushrooms. For dessert we shared a wonderful bread pudding. The service was professional while still being friendly. The decor was casual. I would definitely eat there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Get Stuffed also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Get Stuffed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing