We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not going back again”

China-House Restaurant
Ranked #193 of 378 Restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
St. John's, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not going back again”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Really strange, the place was busy, but the food certainly did not live up to the demand.

Sub par chinese food. General Tao Chicken was the only eatable dish I ordered. Not going to go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fej51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“China house a family tradition”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have been eating at and ordering from the China House for many years. We have seen the restaurant change hands and the quality has remained the same. A few years ago, It was such a pleasure to realize that my sons were friends with the sons of the new owner. Our tradition is: we order exactly the same items each time we go: won ton soup (pork) spring rolls, General Chicken (spicy) steamed rice, a bowl and chopsticks. Sometimes we add a vegetable dish. The quality is excellent the service is very friendly. This is why we always go back to this little wonder.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank multicom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best I have found for Chinese...so far”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Asian food is one of my favorites and I have tried several options in St. Johns over the term of my work assignment. Unfortunately none have set a very high standard in terms of flavor and presentation. China House though has come closest to matching what I have enjoyed in the states.
When I did not see what I wanted on the menu I asked the server if any substitutions were possible. She asked what I was wanting and then consulted the kitchen. They made a very good attempt at filling my request. The food was good but not as spicy as I like. I afford this to their needs to serve the local taste preferences which are bland at best.
If you have to have chinese food and can't wait to get back to the states then China House is one of the best options.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A fave whenever I am in St. John's”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is now a tradition for me! I never travel to St. Johns without popping in for supper. Very nice inside, clean and great food!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sleepywillow49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Standard Chinese Fare”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Decent prices and standard choices.
They were accomodating with not including specific ingredients. Will definitely go back.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank SarahbackinNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China-House Restaurant also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to China-House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing