We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very "blah" tasting food! So dissappinting!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue On Water

Blue On Water
Ranked #43 of 371 Restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: Canadian, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Bay Roberts, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very "blah" tasting food! So dissappinting!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had dinner last evening at Blue on Water..We had eaten there several times in the past( a year ago) and was quite happy with the food. We revisted blue yesterday and had the chicken and salmon. OMG! The chicken was very tasteless, as though it was just baked in the oven with no taste whatsoever and it was served with 4 pieces of baked potatoe. My partner had the salmon. Very over cooked and tasteless. I recommend not to spend the money at this restaurant unless you are on a 0 fat, 0 taste, 0 spice diet-then it may work for you. Horrible food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkicocoa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    85
    51
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“bordering on pretentious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

was recommended to us by a good friend. Lobster bisque was perfect. I had the duck & slightly over done & not really a crispy skin, as I'd like to see. My husband's halibut was very good. Prices are higher than others in St John's. Service was attentive and considerate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank doylemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having been disappointed with the quality of food so far on our trip, a barista recommended we go to Blue on Water for brunch. There were no tables free when we arrived, so we sat at the bar. However, there didn't seem to be a list of people waiting for tables, and no one told us we could order or eat at the bar. After the confusion was cleared, we had a great waitress and a nice breakfast. We shared the goat cheese and spinach eggs benedict, with a side order of fruit (the big bowl.) Both the meal and fruit were great (no lame, overripe melons in the fruit salad! All fresh and yummy!) The ambiance was a bit dark for brunch, they could use with some brighter daytime lighting I think, but overall it was a nice breakfast!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food...service needs improvement...deliveries being brought in through main restaurant!?!?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've been to St. John's several times, and decided to try Blue on Water for lunch during my latest visit. The food was good (interesting menu, good size portions), but I have to say the service was far from impressive. Our waitress plopped two menus down and disappeared for 10 minutes...came back and said "Ready to order?". Nothing welcoming, no smile, no eye-contact. I noticed a different table with a different waitress getting the same cold treatment. I suspect the waitresses were hired for their appearance, rather than their customer service skills. Even more disconcerting were the deliveries being brought in through the main restaurant (ice, veggies, cleaning supplies). Ummm....don't you have a back door? Sorry, but I really don't need to see pails of ice and boxes of detergent being paraded by me while I'm eating. Blue is trying hard to be upscale, but is not quite there. Will probably skip this next time I'm in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoGuy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, NH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a great find in St. John's. The food was interesting and delicious. Service was friendly and efficient.
No complaints!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NHtraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue On Water also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Blue On Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing