We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good quality cod fish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big R

Big R
Ranked #240 of 371 Restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good quality cod fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

very nice and kind staff, good food and reasonable price. Do not expect to see fine furniture. It has a very simple setting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Some Shockin' Good Bye”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

From the airport I head to the Big R immediately every time I'm in St. John's. Fish and Chips Deluxe is the meal for me. Complimented with a Pepsi and I am in Heaven.
Don't get the wrong idea, this is not a fancy place but for the Fish and Chip market in St John's, this is the best.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank notkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Big R has 2 locations - one great, another not so great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Important to note. The Big R has two locations that I am aware of. One on LeMarchant Road where we have often eaten. The food there is so good that at one time it was a regular supper stop several times per week. The last time I ate there, about 6 months ago, the food was still just as good. However, the Blackmarsh Rd. location continues to be "poor" at best. Have eaten take out from there several times since the last review, Always, consistantly burnt potato scraps for fries. I would still order fish from there, but I've given up on the fries.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hawaiidaydreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“2 minutes walk from our front door..too far to go for the quality.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

The big draw is their fish and chips. Fries often resemble burnt potato scraps. Fish is OK. Generally don't eat or order from there unless we're really hungry and want something/anything quick. Several other similar establishments that we sometimes use, are usually much better quality for the same price.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank hawaiidaydreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarenville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The best fish and chips in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

The quality and size of the portions they supply is hard to match. Their prices are good as can be seen by the numbers of people that choose to frequent this establishment consistently.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big R also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
Goulds, St. John's
 

Been to Big R? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing