We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rice House

L.room- TV- Smart DVD player. Small ass.t DVDs novels books, cards puzzles etc
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
L.room- TV- Smart DVD player. Small ass.t DVDs novels books, cards puzzles etc
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
L.room- TV- Smart DVD player. Small ass.t DVDs novels books, cards puzzles etc
Pot filler and built in microwave above stove.
Dishwasher fridge/freezer 4 slice toaster. Kettle Coffee maker.
Printing station in kitchen.
Main Floor washroom
Ensuite vanity sink master bedroom.
Second floor washroom with Bath/ shower
Fort Amherst
Cape Spear
George Street- Yellow Belly brewery and pub
George Street- Trapper John's
George Street
George Street
View of Signal Hill- Cabot Tower from loft master bedroom
Signal Hill- Cabot Tower
Signal Hill- Cabot Tower
Mummers
Mummers Festival Parade
Mummers Festival Parade
Mummers Festival Parade
mouth of Quidi Vidi Village
Ice berg in Quidi Vidi Village. one could almost reach out and touch!
Ice Berg watching
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St. John's, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gtfrederi...
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our visit to Rice House was incredible. The home is absolutely beautiful. Many extras included. Walking distance to shops, restaurants etc. Desiree was a very caring, very accessible Hostess. I would highly recommend "Rice House" to all my family & friends. Thank you Desiree for sharing your beautiful home. It was the perfect start to our ten day vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean & extremely well kept
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Thank you Ginny, you group was a pleasure to host! I hope the wind blows you back to Newfoundland for future vacations. :-D
Desirée
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebfarrant
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Very comfortable house near everything in St. John's”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My daughter and her husband, and my husband and myself rented this lovely house for 4 nights in June. We cook, so if was great to have a kitchen with everything in it, including lots of food that we could use. The second floor bedroom was a double, with not much room besides the bed; my daughter had a queen bed on the third floor, which they liked very much.
Desiree was a wonderful hostess, even though we didn't meet in person.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location and how well it was furnished.
Liked least: double bed a little small, but otherwise fine (we're used to queen)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
It was great to host your visit at Rice House, and wonderful to know that you enjoyed the kitchen, I do try to keep essentials for the epicurean. All the best in your future travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
Thank you so much for staying,
Thanks for taking six good care of the property, it was a pleasure to host you here in St. John's and we looking forward to your future visits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
484gw709
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Awesome accommodation, wonderful stay”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here after Christmas just to spend some time in gorgeous downtown St. John's. We loved the convenience of location; a short downhill walk to Water or Duckworth Street, close to supermarkets, small local groceries and corner stores, and even the health food store are all within short walking distance. We also loved that the kitchen was stocked with all the tools needed to make any sort of meal...lots of spatulas, pots and pans, good knives, etc. The house itself is a beautiful three floor St. John's townhouse with tasteful art and decor. Comfy as well as spacious. A lot of local maps and tourism info are also provided by the host. Loved this spot and would definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The jacuzzi!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2016
Thanks for your wonderful feedback, you both were wonderful guests and I'd love to have you stay again on your next visit.
Desir�e
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatts2015
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much better than a hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Excellent location - 5 min walk to downtown (War Memorial).

House is nicely decorated. Kitchen was stocked with condiments, so check before you go grocery shopping.

Back deck was excellent to sit out on - nice and quiet.

Top bedroom has TV.

Enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home - very comfortable.
Liked least: stairs to top bedroom - husband bad knee
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftthomasm...
The Cincinnati Region
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This place was perfect! The location is convenient to pubs and eatieries and walking around town was fun. It was super clean and seemed to be newly renovated. The three floors was great for me and my two friends and the outside patio (with lights and pond) was great to sit on and enjoy beverages after a long day of sight seeing! The owner was great to work with as well, everything seem to work so seemlessly! Great town, great place to stay! Don't waste your time looking for any other place, this is where you want to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: three floors!
Liked least: noisy cat! lol
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djdduejdb...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and wonderful host.”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Overall excellent experience. The house was very neat and tidy and having a bathroom on every floor was convienent.
The host Desiree was very nice and made sure our stay was enjoyable.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2015
Thanks for the kind words , it makes me very happy to know you enjoyed your stay, and having the extra bathrooms is so essential to make everyone's stay more comfortable. I also was happy that I could accommodate your early check in and late check out. You were wonderful guests and I hope you visit again next year.
Have a great summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing