We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peppermill - CLOSED

The Peppermill
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Soups, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A nice find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We wandered by late one evening and Peppermill still had a table. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this restaurant. The food was very well prepared and tasty. Service was great. We loved it and it was reasonably priced.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PMdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Unrushed and Cooked to Order”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

There are no lack of restaurants in St. Johns's and you'd better make a reservation for most of them especially during tourist season.

We picked the Pepper Mill for our last night and quickly realized that we saved the best for last.

Everything was delicious, fresh, and cooked to order (although so much so that we "had" to get an additional bottle of wine). My dinner was pepper-crusted Halibut which was thick and still juicy even though I had asked to have it cooked more well done than the chef suggested. We all ate more than we wanted because everything tasted so good (and after all it was our last night of vacation!)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Slow Service and Average, Overpriced Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Though we had a reservation for four people, the table was only set up for three which we found to be odd especially since the restaurant was not full. The table they put us at was round and more like something you'd see in a friend's basement rather than an expensive restaurant. As such, the legs were in the way and made it difficult for two of the four adults to sit comfortably. I was fidgety the entire meal (which was two hours long -- one hour longer than it should have been due to extremely slow service). The seating alone would preclude me from returning.

There were only two waiters working and one chef and it was too much work for all of them despite the restaurant not being large and only being 2/3 full. It took a long time for us to be able to order let alone receive our food. The young wait staff seemed overwhelmed as well.

Here is the consensus from our table:

APPETIZERS
Mushroom Appetizer - excellent. This was actually a great start to the meal with savory mushrooms in a pleasant sauce. I would recommend this as a starter.

Fish Cakes -- Not Authentic and tasted like potato pancakes not fish. They were nothing like regular fish cakes but instead tasted like a deep fried potato puff. I'm not sure where the flavor or fish were but this was extremely disappointing and strange.

Wilted Spinach Salad -- Good. A nice portion and it looked and tasted nice. They didn't split it onto two plates even though we said two people would be sharing but that's a minor complaint and when we asked for another plate, they gave us another small bread plate -- which the table had plenty of.

Scallops -- Very Small and not good value for money as they were just okay but not great or prepared particularly well.

Chowder Soup -- Tasteless, Bland and Worse than Canned Soup.

ENTREES
Cashew Crusted Pan Fried Cod -- No one at the table particularly enjoyed this dish and only 1/3 of it was eaten. The cod was overcooked and there were too many nuts. This was a waste for us since it was so expensive and very little of it was eaten.

Seafood Carbonara -- Very Good. Flavorful, rich, creamy and probably the best bet on the menu as far as entrees go.

The restaurant charges a fortune for everything yet much of their food is average or sub-par. We didn't enjoy waiting so long for food that wasn't great. Although some dishes were very good (i.e. mushroom appetizer, seafood carbonara), the rest really was kind of disappointing especially for the price and slow service. The alcohol is very expensive but that's kind of to be expected on Water Street. Our total for four people (only two had entrees and only one had alcohol) was $155.

Overall I'd say it was a disappointing and long night. We would have been happier at a cheaper, quicker restaurant with better food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BloatedBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Successful dining experience with out of town guest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I am always a little confounded at where to take an out of town guest and get tired of my two "standby's". Tea Garden Holyrood, Get Stuffed.

Being a picky eater, I let guest perruse online menus first and she picked Peppermill. She LOVED her meal. The service was efficient and friendly and the atmosphere relaxed. We went two weeks ago and people were being turned back at the door so I think best to make a reservation as we did.

Bill was reasonable for the meal we enjoyed.

Highlights

Blackened shrimp and scallops, and fish cake were really really good. As were the cod and chicken. Pasta - a little over sold for what it actually was but was enjoyed by that member of our party who ordered it with a to go box for the next day's lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank girlheartsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't go there!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Sad attempt at upscale food. Wine list deplorable and to make matters worse, our first selection was ' not available' as was our second and our third. Had to settle for a mediocre fourth choice or what may have been better would to have left. Restaurant was stifling hot, air conditioner non-effective. Salad came drenched in dressing, was sent back and returned to us with most of the key ingredients missing. What a waste of an evening!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peppermill also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
Goulds, St. John's
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing