We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I enjoyed my lunch and atmosphere there but could be cleaner.”

Oliver's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 373 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Intimate restaurant in the heart of downtown St. John's, Newfoundland. Operating for over 17 years,Oliver's is a favourite for great seafood, steaks, fresh pastas and mouthwatering housemade desserts. Featuring intimate booths, warm colours and a fantastic wine list.
Paradise, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I enjoyed my lunch and atmosphere there but could be cleaner.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

I seek out different restaurants wherever I am. No same ole for me. I tried here for lunch when It wasn't too busy. I ordered a lamb dish, something I rarely cook at home. I loved it! The one washroom wasn't the cleanest and overall place could be cleaner from the dust on things.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToddN346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    171
    51
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Absolutely Delicious!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Spent an evening out with my mom and sister.. Service was superb! We all had seafood appetizers which were amazing, followed by a delicious entree and even had desert!
The restaurant is very intimate with great wine choices, and very friendly service!
I will be going back, and recommend this place to everyone and anyone :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frampton_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, wine and service!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Had an absolutely incredible experience here this evening. Superb appys, mains and dessert not to mention great wine recommended by staff. Nice atmosphere and very friendly and knowledgable staff. Wonderful time....highly recommended!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great seafood”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

There are lots of good seafood places in St John's, but this is my favorite so far. Halibut is superb. Service was friendly and efficient. Wine list is decent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Wine Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Over-indulged ourselves with delicious appetizers, wine, bread...there was no more room for desert! Great meal for our anniversary!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mish086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's Restaurant also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Oliver's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing