We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really delicious but left feeling a bit hungry!”

Oliver's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 371 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Intimate restaurant in the heart of downtown St. John's, Newfoundland. Operating for over 17 years,Oliver's is a favourite for great seafood, steaks, fresh pastas and mouthwatering housemade desserts. Featuring intimate booths, warm colours and a fantastic wine list.
Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really delicious but left feeling a bit hungry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were at Oliver's on August 4, 2013. We had the cod with salsa verde which was so delicious but my husband was still hungry so he ordered another salad and I had room for dessert. The cheesecake is to die for! The waitress was especially helpful and pleasant. We would definitely eat here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    168
    51
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

It was our last day of a 3 week holiday in Nfld and we wanted to have a nice lunch. Through Trip Advisor, we found Oliver's and were very pleased with our choice. Service was quick and pleasant. My husband had a lamb burger while I had a chicken crepe with white wine cream sauce,both with sweet potato fries. Delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatMilland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“A consistently excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We learned about Oliver's from several sources, and after our first meal at this delightful restaurant we couldn't resist going back (two times) to try other selections on their innovative menu. We particularly enjoyed their fish and seafood selections. Never disappointed. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Kudos to the chefs!!! Make a reservation - we saw a number of drop-in pe

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 154943Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great service from a great waitress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a late Sunday lunch at Oliver's Restaurant because it was close to our hotel and it looked cosy. We had a wonderful waitress who was happy to help with questions, knowledgeable, chatty without being imposing and efficient. We ordered a starter and two mains for two of us to share. And our waitress kindly suggested we get all three out at once, which was exactly what we wanted! We ordered the crab cakes, the cod tongue and the halibut. All were perfectly good meals. I had never tried cod tongues before so was curious. Our waitress told me that it is normally served with bacon or lardon. Not really an experience I would rush back for... For dessert, we got a bread pudding and a crème brulee.

The meals weren't anything out of the ordinary. They were good simple meals, cooked well. We weren't expecting anything more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeParam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice room but found the food average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Joined a group of business colleagues for dinner. People arrived over a period of time and they were pretty good about getting drinks and serving the new arrivals. Appetizers arrived fairly quickly but I found the crab cakes fairly bland and average. The must have forgotten to place my order since it arrived much later with apologies. It was an average piece of salmon with some OK sides. Dessert was a fairly good Baileys Cream Brule.

The rrom isicely furnished and I expect I would have enjoyed the food more if it hadn't been late and therefore a bi rushed. Wait staff were very good, I think the kitchen let them down

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaskWolfhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's Restaurant also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Oliver's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing