We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”

Oliver's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 381 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Intimate restaurant in the heart of downtown St. John's, Newfoundland. Operating for over 17 years,Oliver's is a favourite for great seafood, steaks, fresh pastas and mouthwatering housemade desserts. Featuring intimate booths, warm colours and a fantastic wine list.
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I arrived before my husband, but no one offered me anything to drink while I waited. During the meal, no one refilled our water. And we had to stand up and walk to the back to ask for our check.
Aside from service, the meal was ok. I had the goat cheese appetizer, which was good. My husband liked their french onion soup. My entree was the lamb, and it was overcooked. My husband had fish and said it was ok. For the prices and from other reviews, I thought it would be better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ssblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    182
    55
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, average atmosphere and service!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

For the caliber of the food (fantastic) the service should be upgraded. Ate here and felt very rushed and sometimes forgotten about by the server which was strange as there were only a few other customers at the time. I had the creamy carrot and ginger soup, followed by the portobello mushroom Wellington and creme brûlée for dessert. All amazing, absolutely delicious food! My boyfriend had steak which he recommends. Would eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly_adams23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conception Bay South, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Oliver`s is a nice quiet restaurant. No loud blaring music. This is my 4th, visit, once at lunch and 3 at dinner time. I have never been disappointed in either the food or the atmosphere. Food portions each time were more than enough and the food was cooked to perfection. I am sure that I will be back. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hidden treasure****”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stumbled upon a little restaurant called Oliver's in downtown St John's. Our was perfect from the appetizer's to the main courses. All were served piping hot and cooked to perfection.
I had salmon and my husband had seafood pasta , we shared appetizer's of scallops and seafood chowder.
All were perfect.....we will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Slow service, mediocre food”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The kitchen added chicken to two dishes without our knowledge, and charged us for the inclusion of the chicken in the dish, even though we didn't order it. As we pretty much only ordered soup and salads, we didn't expect to be in the restaurant for almost 2 hours. Aside from the service issues, stay away from the seafood chowder. Whatever crap they serve doesn't hold a candle to Campbell's chowder, the fish is bland and flavorless, and everything is oily and kind of gross.

Wouldn't go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's Restaurant also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Oliver's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing