We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good experience”
Review of The Gypsy Tea Room

The Gypsy Tea Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gypsy Tea Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 388 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located in the historic Murray Premises building in the heart of downtown St. John's The Gypsy Tea Room can accommodate large groups or the most intimate of diners. Our menu includes local favourites, European cuisine and unique daily features. We are open for lunch and dinner as well as a delicious brunch on Saturday and Sunday. Our private dining room is available for wine tastings and dinner or a meeting with colleagues. The Gypsy Tea Room also offers a state of the art conference room with Smart Board, data projector and video conference capability. Our courtyard restaurant can seat 120 people with an open air kitchen and bar. Sit back and relax in a resort setting...Let us take care of you.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Food, service, wine list, it was all good.
One of these go to and return places.
I had fish, soups, salads, chowder, meat, all in all it was all respectable, pleasant and quality was present in all aspects.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Interest009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

600 - 604 of 788 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We ate here with our nephew and his friend for New Years eve- what a treat!!! The appetizers were delicious- I had the scallops and nephew's friend has a seafood chowder that looked great. The boys had the tenderloin and I had the salmon and lobster- all were excellent and the dessert plate really blew us away!!! We had low expectations given that this was a fixed, prepaid New Years meal. However, our expectations were blown away! We enjoyed the meal very much, and with a price of $100 pp including tax and tip, the price was right for a New Years Eve meal. Looking forward to eating here again the next time we come to St. John's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gamelanlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your great review. I hope you have a chance to visit is the summer too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I ate here with my business colleagues and it was very nice.
The food options were good, everything we ordered seemed to have a little extra care to make it above the normal fare you order out.
Nice dining room setting, services was pleasant and informative.
One of the best on the main drag for St. Johns

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelPro1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your comments, I hope you will come back when we launch our new menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Had a meal there on Friday night and it was on of the best meals ever!!! I loved the combination of foods. I had Atlantic Cod wrapped in prosciutto served with pease pudding puree, salt meat and potatoes sticks. Not you typical cod meal but by far the best! Dessert was also amazing...gingerbread cheesecake...Yummy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NLHappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

We appreciated your comments and it great to have people from outside the city out enjoying them selves in the downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Having been here a few times for dinner and brunch, The Gypsy Tea Room is always spot on.
Great environment with the original brick walls and a nice bar, it's the perfect spot for a romantic dinner or a gathering with friends.
The service is excellent and the menu always features nice specials, making your choice even more difficult

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlexCaldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gypsy Tea Room also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to The Gypsy Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing