We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience”
Review of The Gypsy Tea Room

The Gypsy Tea Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gypsy Tea Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 391 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located in the historic Murray Premises building in the heart of downtown St. John's The Gypsy Tea Room can accommodate large groups or the most intimate of diners. Our menu includes local favourites, European cuisine and unique daily features. We are open for lunch and dinner as well as a delicious brunch on Saturday and Sunday. Our private dining room is available for wine tastings and dinner or a meeting with colleagues. The Gypsy Tea Room also offers a state of the art conference room with Smart Board, data projector and video conference capability. Our courtyard restaurant can seat 120 people with an open air kitchen and bar. Sit back and relax in a resort setting...Let us take care of you.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Last April, I contacted the manager of Gypsy to obtain some additional details about the possibility of planning our wedding at the restaurant. He got back to us right away and met with us in person to discuss what we were looking for. We chose to not only book the space to have our reception but to have our ceremony there as well. Our big day was October 12th and it went off without a hitch. Leading up to the day, the manager was always able to get a hold of and went above and beyond in planning wedding details that he really didn't have to take on. The actual wedding was everything we expected and more. The feedback we have gotten from our guests has been nothing but positive. The food was excellent, the staff were practically invisible, and everything just flowed really well. We would recommend the Gypsy Tea Room to anyone who is planning an event based on our experience. We look forward to many more trips to the restaurant in the future!

Thank you again to the manager and staff for making our day truly a memorable day.

Amy & Mark

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GypsyTeaRoom, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We strive to make days like yours as memorable as possible. We are very proud of our staff in how everything went that night and very happy that you both had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 652 of 824 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Gypsy Tea Room was highly recommended to a colleague and I when we were traveling through St. John's last month. So,we made reservations. First, let me disabuse you of the fact that there is 'parking' - as they tell you when you call. The parking they talk about is a city run lot that asks for $7 up front, no matter how long you intend to stay. The menu that our hotel showed us was the luncheon menu. Ooops. The dinner menu was approx $20 MORE per plate. Well, we were there, so we found something to order off the menu. The helpings were scanty, the food was bland, and the server was patronizing. We both ordered fish dishes (this was NL!). He said his was bland and the fish in mine was over-cooked and OLD! So bad, that we didn't order dessert - didn't want to take the chance.
A total disappointment, and especially since my colleague was from out of country, and I wanted to share our (usually great) Atlantic Canadian cuisine with him. Would not even TRY this place again. Pricey, poor quality, warehouse atmosphere where we were seated, and snotty waiter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DorothyGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GypsyTeaRoom, Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

I am sorry you were disappointed your Dinner. We are in the heart of downtown and we do not have parking. There is a parking lot that belongs to the hotel that we are attached to, you can park in for a price. I am not sure where your hotel got our menu from but he/she showed you the wrong menu or our lunch menu. Dinner menu's are usually higher priced then lunch. Our fish shipped is in daily and we strive to have the freshest product possible, I am sorry the dish was not to your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Food is very nice and service is good. The atmosphere is comfortable and warm. Lots of business suits at lunch time when we visited but still room for casual clothes. Great wine list - looking forward to going back for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rictravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GypsyTeaRoom, Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments, it is appreciated. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We dropped in without a reservation and they seated 10 of us in a private wine room in the basement. The ambiance was fantastic, the service was super and the food was exceptional.

Thank Randman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GypsyTeaRoom, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

I am happy we were able to accommodate your large group and that you had a great evening, that is what we strive to do. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Convenient, a great wine list, only disappointment is that we were working for lunch, not offered on weekend. Make a reservation if you want dinner, with plenty of notice on weekends. Awesome sweet and sour duck soup.

Thank UgoIgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GypsyTeaRoom, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

We are a large venue and on the weekends it is just to busy to run with both our lunch and brunch menus. I am glad you enjoyed the soup and hope you were able to savour some of our fine wines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gypsy Tea Room also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to The Gypsy Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing