We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pho, Good BBQ Duck”
Review of Saigon Bistro - CLOSED

Saigon Bistro
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 21, 2016

I keep going back for the pho and duck (website forces me to chose a month). Both great items on the menu. Had the Bun before but portions are small compared to what I have had in Calgary. Salad Rolls are also good. For people with allergies they are very accommodating and know their menu well.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 35 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2016 via mobile

Small restaurant well laid out. Great service. Pho soup is to die for. Curry chicken is very very very very good. Bun thit noung was amazing. Exceeded expectations. Try it, you'll like it!

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Mishka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2016

Went here in August for anniversary dinner. Ordered recommendations from waiter/owner=ALL delicious! Priced moderately except wine by the btl was pricey. Service excellent...a gem of a restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2015

I love this place for the duck, and for the pho. I think that the pho is "northern Vietnamese" style so it's different (read less elaborate) than the pho that I am used to eating in other cities in Canada.

It's a family run business and it shows. The staff are very friendly and the meals are prepared in a kitchen that you can see from the eating area.

It can get pricey and there is a lot of rice in some dishes. That said, the flavors are specific to this restaurant and you won't find them anywhere else in town.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

If you have never eaten pho before then you will probably think this is excellent. I have eaten pho in many different parts of the country and world. The portions were very small, the amount of bean sprouts and herbs was stingy. It cost me and my girlfriend $45 for 2 bowls and a spring roll each. This is mediocre at best and over priced. Not suprised for St. Johns.

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Bistro also viewed

Goulds, St. John's
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing