We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
107
30
15
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
30
15
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish cakes walking distance adjoining house o brien lovely corner gower st free parking pass newfoundland hospitality place to stay row houses superb location george street water street street parking restaurants and shops not hesitate to stay here again sitting room
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 159 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2018

We can't thank Ann of The Narrows Bed and Breakfast enough !! Our family visited last week, returning to Ontario Sunday. My daughter, age 24, stayed on a few extra days to sight see on her own. On a hike at Signal Hill, she suffered a mild concussion and needed to move into a quiet, peaceful room to recover. From our home, I contacted the Narrows and spoke with Ann. She not only had the perfect space to offer her but has been kind enough to keep an eye on her for us while she rests up before carrying on with her travels. I just spoke with my daughter who says the place is "perfect" and the hospitality incredibly heart-warming. Thank you Ann and all at The Narrows !! (We're also grateful to the staff at Signal Hill who went above and beyond in helping our daughter through this ordeal). St. Johns Newfoundland- you are amazing. We will be sure to come back again some day to stay at The Narrows, to express our thanks personally.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemgalbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrows2015, Owner at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

So glad everything worked out as I understand the worry you had nut all is great here glad we were able to help you out. Sometime if your ever back this way would love to see you. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at The Narrows. Ann and Lisa were wonderful hosts - personable, helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Lovely venue; close to everything, and suitably quaint. Great breakfast!!!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrows2015, Owner at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thanks for your comments would love to have you back someday for guests again. Thanks. Ann and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

We had an absolutely fantastic stay at The Narrows. Ann O’Brien was a friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating host. It was central to downtown and walking distance to many attractions and fine dining. Ann and Lisa make great partners and provided great advice for us on where to go, and what to see and to do. We highy recommend a stay here. Don’t forget to bring your appetite... the breakfasts will fill you for the day!.....

Stayed: July 2018
Thank duncansue2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrows2015, Owner at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thanks guys for your lovely comments. Much appreciated. Ann and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

From the moment we stepped foot on The Narrows property we were embraced with hospitality and kindness. Lisa and Anne, the owner and the manager, assisted us with our travel plans and gave us many recommendations. I am a clean freak and this place was spotless! The food was abundant and delicious. My aunt is a diabetic and they were very gracious in making certain that her needs were met. The location is prime for visiting the downtown area as it is only 2 blocks away from the main street. I would for sure stay here again.

Room Tip: Room #2 is fairly quiet except it is right below the stairs. This is one of the coolest (temperature wise) rooms and one of the biggest.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiejwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrows2015, Owner at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Thank you very much for your nice comments. It was a pleasure having you here as guests. Someday hope to see you again. Take care. Ann and Lusa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

Comfortable accommodation with friendly, helpful hostess.
Very convenient and quiet location close to restaurants and town centre.
Varied breakfasts but limited choice.
Street is especially attractive with its painted clapboard terraced houses.

Room Tip: Rooms are all upstairs
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRB1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrows2015, Owner at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Thanks for your comments, much appreciated. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews