We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a happy camper”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Narrows Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Narrows B&B is a real gem. I was in Room 2 and found it to be clean and comfortable, and as a solo holiday traveller, I felt safe staying at this location.
Downtown attractions are only a short distance as well as a large variety of eating establishments.
Speaking of eating, I enjoyed fishcakes for breakfast at this B&B one morning. All the breakfasts were great, made by Brenda (housekeeper/cook) or Ann (owner).
Many thanks for your hospitality. I will recommend The Narrows to others and hope to return myself one day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 148 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the Narrows Bed and Breakfast may 22 - 27/13. Absolutely loved it. The owner Ann and her side kick Brendamade our stay enjoyable. Ann the owner is an absolute delight,and a great hostess. Making sure all of her guests were well taken care of. Even when she was having a kidney stone attack, there was a smile on her face. Ann and side kick Brenda both made sure the guests were well taken care of. The breakfasts were plentyful and great tasting. We especially loved the blueberry pancakes and the fish cakes. Every morning greated with a hug, laughter and smiles.
The beds were very comfortable, and the comforter very warm. The rooms extremely clean, and nicely decorated.
The Narrows is in a great location, close to water,Duckworth,& George Street, of which was great fot the evening entertainment. Also walking distance to a number of beautiful churches, and The Rooms, and many great restaurants.
From the Narrows B&B a nice LONG hike to Signal hill and the Geo center. Make sure you have good walking shoes.
Ann is very knowledgeable about what tours to do and will take time out of her busy morning to book them for you. I highly recommend O'Briens whale watching and bird tour, and also recommend Mccarthy's ground tour.
Ann's side kick Brenda is a wonderful,funny, helpful, passionate person. She will give you a big hug when you come down for breakfast. Squeeze and a pinch. She always had a joke or 3 to keep you in stitches. On her days off often would be volunteering her self to take guests around the town. Often seen with a pen and map in hand giving directions. She kept the rooms spotless. Our photo album would not be complete with out pictures of our two favorite people - Ann & Brenda.
Very much looking forward to going back next year and staying with Ann & Brenda again. With hopes to see the whales. And hopefully getting our great room back

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Started our first trip to Newfoundland at the Narrows and finished it there. It couldn't have been more welcoming, lovely and fun. The room was comfortable and spacious with a particularly luxurious bed. The bathroom was new and spotless. The cleanliness of the entire house was impeccable. There is a very nice common area with full internet access in the living room/kitchen. We were greeted every morning with delicious food and warm hugs. Only a few short blocks from the restaurant and shopping district, on Water Street. Anne (the proprietor) and Brenda (her assistant) were very helpful with recommendations of placed to eat as well as to visit. In fact, as we had arrived with no set plan, they took the time to plan out a 3 day tour of some of the rest of the island and made the reservations at other B&Bs for us. Also, we had a rental car and Anne arranged for free permit parking on the street in front of the house. It was splendid. Can't say enough good things about these lovely, generous and warm ladies.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

While traveling to St John's on business I couldn't find a hotel room on short notice. I wanted to avoid staying in an airport area hotel so I chose The Narrows B&B for it's downtown location. From the very first phone call I felt like I was being taken care in contrast to the lonely feeling at large hotels. I was reminded to pick up a FREE parking pass and room key the first morning even though check-in wasn't until later that day.

While I only had time for breakfast on my last day, I was invited into the kitchen with a hug and a 'where have you been?' from Brenda (who makes fantastic poached eggs). Overall a very comfortable, secure, and affordable stay. Can't wait to come back with my wife and more time to spend.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 2 I believe on the bottom floor of the Brown House. Below the kitchen but not too lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpedforboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed three nights at "The Narrows" after reading the reviews online. The location is perfect - walking distance from Duckworth and George street and a short drive to Signal Hill. A parking pass was provided, so we left our car parked there as we explored downtown. The house is three levels and older, so you could hear when other guests were walking around above you. Our room was on the second floor, right next to where breakfast is served. The room was small and comfortable, but as soon as breakfast got started (at 7:30), it was noisy. Breakfast was very simple - eggs on toast, fishcakes and toast. Having stayed at several other bed and breakfasts we were expecting more variety - usually we would have at least one other course with breakfast. After one breakfast we actually went out for breakfast. Our hostess was delightful. She provided lots of humour and gave us many helpful suggestions about how to enjoy our time in St Johns.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistyrivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Recently stayed at the Narrows during a visit St. John's. Totally lucked into finding a room there, as the folk festival was on and everything was booked. We were lucky not just too have a found a place to stay - but to have found the Narrows. Not only were we a stones throw (literally) from downtown, but Ann and Brenda were truly delightful; beyond friendly and welcoming. And Brenda's pancakes are killer! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and two other travelling companions spent 4 nights at the Narrows B&B in St. John's from August 7 to 10, 2012. This was our first time in NL. We all agreed we had "lucked in" with our choice to stay at the Narrows! Our first contact when we arrived was with Brenda, one of Ann O'Brien's staff members. She welcomed us with a big hug and showed us to our rooms. Brenda is a wonderful person, very funny, helpful and passionate about her job. Both she and Ann provided us with information on where to eat, what to see and where to shop. A delicious breakfast was prepared each morning by either Brenda or Cindy, providing options if someone favoured a menu item over another. Ann O'Brien, the owner, has a beautiful place. The guest rooms are split between two attached buildings which are ideally located close to the St. John's Harbour providing easy walking to key sights. Our room was very comfortable, with a Queen bed, ceiling fan and ensuite bathroom. The sitting area in the breakfast area provided a very comfortable area for guests before and after breakfast and during cocktail hour for those who wished to relax with other guests and Ann. We will definitely return to the Narrows B&B and will recommend this wonderful and comfortable B&B to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
344 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
621 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
At Wit's Inn
At Wit's Inn
#4 of 25 in St. John's
114 reviews
Rendell - Shea Manor
#1 of 25 in St. John's
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Narrows Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Narrows Bed and Breakfast

Address: 146 Gower St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1P3, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $128 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Narrows Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Narrows Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Narrows Bed And Breakfast Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing