We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Narrows Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain's Quarters(St. John's)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Blue on Water(St. John's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
JAG(St. John's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
98
28
15
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
28
15
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bwalking distanceadjoining houselovely cornergower stfree parking passfriendly hostsnewfoundland hospitalityrow housessuperb locationplace to staynot hesitate to stay here againrestaurants and shopssitting roomeach morningspent nights herewater st
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 148 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had a wonderful time while staying at The Narrows. We were in St. John's for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. The Narrows is very clean, comfortable and welcoming, with all the mod cons you would want. The location is great, very close to everything in downtown St. John's, yet on a quiet street - we didn't need a car for the first two days, we could walk everywhere.
Anne and Brenda are delightful hosts and kept us laughing the whole time. They gave us great advise on where to go and what to see, and provided a lovely, hearty breakfast each morning.
Great value for money at The Narrows - we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The top floor room in the brown house would be great for couples retreats!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Other than perhaps carrying us up the stairs to our room every night, I don't think there is much more our hosts, Ann and Brenda (and others), could have done to make our stay at the Narrows more enjoyable or comfortable. They were very helpful and welcoming! After attending a conference, I was travelling with my mom en route to visit relatives, so this trip had several purposes. The Narrows was a good base where I could do some work and also explore the St John's area as a visitor. Since it is located on one of St John's many downtown hills in an old merchant row house, the location, like many others, has some accessiblility issues in general (stairs and hills, smallish rooms and hallways), but my mom (a senior with knee problems) says she found it comfortable in spite of originally being worried about the 2nd floor room. The breakfasts were yummy and ample; Ann offered an optional Jigg's dinner one night, which was tasty and social; lots of info available about local activities ... In general, people went out of their way to offer personal service and suggestions -- it was like visiting family we didn't know we had in Newfoundland! Since it's a b+b and not a hotel, they don't offer extra services on Trip Advisor's list, like spas, pools, large suites etc., but it's in a handy location, so many stores and services and restaurants are walking distance (up or down the hills) a few blocks from the front door. Our experience at the Narrows was worth its weight in gold ... thanks so much!

Room Tip: Specify exact arrival time + key logistics early
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KateKeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

From the moment we walked in the front door we were treated like family. My sister and I were traveling together and had made our reservation at The Narrows from Toronto. Not knowing what to expect we were enthusiastically greeted by Brenda the moment we walked in the front door. This B & B was beautifully appointed, extremely clean and very, very comfortable. Ann, the owner, and Brenda went out of their way to make us feel welcome and took the time to give us tips on what to see and do while we were in Newfoundland. We loved The Narrows so much we re-booked when we returned to St. John's after touring around. Absolutely wonderful and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarlaCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Ann, Brenda, Barb and Patsy all took time to make us feel welcome and comfortable at The Narrows. Each of them had little tidbits of advice on where to go in the city and how to make the most out of our trip. These ladies are the most hardworking staff I've ever met while on any vacation and it shows...plus they make delicious food, so that helps! Ann definitely runs the best bed and breakfast I've ever been to and I would recommend her place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinar1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

With downtown St John's just a few blocks down the hill, the location of the Narrows B&B is perfect. Rooms were clean and comfortable. One of the two rooms we booked was a suite on the top floor. The best part of Narrows B&B was breakfast. Tasty food and the most welcoming and delightful staff one could ever expect.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews