We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, busy, bar, bread and burgers”
Review of Legros and Motti - CLOSED

Legros and Motti
Cuisines: Italian, American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic European cuisine in the heart of St. John's Newfoundland. A spectacular dining experience!
Ottawa
Level Contributor
175 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Big, busy, bar, bread and burgers”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

LeGros & Motti (L&M) refers to the owners’ grandmothers’ surnames and serves a mix of Italian/French/American pizzas, burgers and seafood. It is located next to the St. John’s Harbour and ticket kiosks for iceberg and whale watching boat tours. It is open for lunch and dinner and we were there at 6:00 PM for a quick early dinner after our conference at the nearby Delta Hotel ended for the day. The place was already busy and noisy on a Thursday evening even though L&M has a huge, two-storey open-concept warehouse look with sports bar, fireplace and glassed-in kitchen area. Warm fresh bread and olive oil arrived as we sat down. Four people next to us were having burgers. We ordered the crusty crab cake balls with aioli sauce. Yummy. Next, we split an oval-shaped roasted vegetable pizza. It tasted good and was nicely spiced but the crust was beyond chewy. My companion asked our server for steak knives to cut the bottom crust. Even with those implements it was still a challenge to saw through. Service was friendly and efficient. Finished off our glasses of red wine and left. Would we go back? Yes, but minus the pizza.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank xygb7dklt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    35
    34
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Evening and Celebration!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Walked in with a party of 11 and waited about 5 minutes for our private dining room on the second floor to be prepared.
Everything was what we hoped, drinks, appetizers and entrees were enjoyed by all and that's saying a lot for a large group. Couldn't ask for better service and the wait seemed relatively quick. The atmosphere and gorgeous wood throughout the restaurant is truly worth the trip in for a drink and appetizer..you won't be disappointed.
Thanks for making our family celebration even more special! (Even the 2nd floor bathroom is worth a visit!!)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geaiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newfoundland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Atmosphere Good.
Service Good.
Food ???
5 guests in party,all different
pasta dishes,all disappointed.
No flavor, Over cooked and some under cooked pasta.
The shaved steak bruschetta
was not shaved but rather a tough bad cut of steak.
To the Manager,you need to implement proper Quality control,Maybe you should taste some dishes before they get served.My number one reason for visiting a restaurant is the
FOOD,everything else is secondary.
I was Sadly disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank critically_chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st johns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ripped off!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Arrived around 7pm, place seemed about half full but had to wait 10 minutes or so for the 4 hostesses to finish whatever they were talking about to acknowledge us. Advised that there were no tables upstairs but we could wait a bar and have a drink, a very overpriced drink at that. Meanwhile we noticed a lot of empty tables upstairs. Took about 40 mins for our server to take our order and another hour to show up. Pasta was disgusting, pizza was tasty only because it was layered with salt.
They have really made a mess of this place, from stiffing local contractors who built the place, trying to bill it as an upscale Italian restaurant when it's nothing more than any other bar and grill... unfortunately they don't even compare. don't waste your money folks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fit_to_burn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I'll admit that after reading and hearing some reviews, I was a bit weary about what was in store for me and my fiancé at Legros and Motti. Turns out that we had a wonderful evening, superb service and the food was the best I've had. We sat on the second floor, at a window overlooking the harbour; it was beautiful! Our server, Crystal, was very sweet. She checked in with us often, gave us advice on our meal choice and always made sure we had a drink at hand.

I ordered the Linguine Chicken Pesto and it was honestly the best pasta I've had. Apparently they have recently tweaked the recipe. It was so tasty! My fiancé ordered the Kobe beef burger and he said it was best burger he's had too. There was an initial fool up with what he had asked for on the burger, but they quickly fixed that and brought him a whole new platter. The manager actually brought it out to him and apologized for the mix up. With out meal we also had a few drinks and they too were excellent. To top it off we had the chocolate cake. It's a pretty big piece, so I'll advise sharing it.

At the end of the evening the manager came back over and said he'd taken care of our dessert for the earlier inconvenience (which was hardly an inconvenience given it was fixed so quickly). A nice gesture for sure. Our bill was about the same or even a little less than what we would have spent at nearby restaurants. The food was amazing and the service even better. We'll be back for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legros and Motti also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
Goulds, St. John's
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing