We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Web Page Misleading”
Review of Blue on Water

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue on Water
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Web Page Misleading”
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Booked 3 nights 2 couples bad from the start, left after 1 night.
No parking available, public lot made us leave because we were staying at Blue on Water as feuding with next door hotel. Frayed thin sheets, blood stained pillow case, plumbing fixtures falling apart, towels stained, no elevator. Staff apologetic but seemed incapable of doing anything. If this seems like a rant it isn't it is factual photos available.
Recommend by Seamus O'Regan Canada AM CTV.. He might want to disassociate his name.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockland226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    29
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
6
68
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Upon arriving at the St John's airport, renting a car and heading for the downtown location of the hotel, our first glimpse of the hotel was disconcerting. It is an older building that has seen better days. There is no reception area. You check in at the bar or with a staff member in the restaurant. The carpet in the entry way was worn and stained. The room was small, furnished sparsely and equipped with thread bare sheets and worn towels that you could see through. The most lasting impression, however, was the parking issue. We parked immediately adjacent to hotel in a lot clearly marked as "Public Parking" and paid the attendant for the day. When we took luggage from the car and headed for the Blue on Water, he said that we would have to leave the lot. When asked why, he explained that the parking lot was owned by a rival hotel owner and a feud had broken out between him and the owner of the Blue on Water. We convinced him to let us at least take our bags to the Blue on Water before we left the lot. He agreed so we made our way to the hotel and explained our situation to the Blue on Water staff member. He acknowledged the feud and the fact that we would not be allowed to park there. His assistance with the problem consisted of saying that we would have to park on the street and feed the meter all day or get a ticket and possible be towed away. We stayed overnight because we were required to pay for one night but moved to another hotel the next day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

After stumbling accross this hotel in the RePorter Magazine, I was very curious to see if a trendy boutique hotel really exhisited in St. John's.
From the minute you walk in you will be impressed. Friendly staff and clean one of a kind rooms. The only negative I have is that when someone calls you thru the hotel they may wait awhile before the phone is picked up.
This hotel is a great change from the stuffy, rundown hotels in St. John's
My new favourite

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuddlypolarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I've been staying here for close to three years. I travel a lot for business and this is like a home away from home for me. From check in to check out I am comfortable and happy. I recently had a flight cancelled, called from the road and was told to "Come on home".

Upon arrival I was treated with one of the amazing new suites. My suite had two queen size beds, an amazing tub and shower. It was huge!

As other reviews have noted you need to take your luggage to your room. There is now an elevator if that's too much for you.

All of the rooms at Blue have incredibly comfortable beds, great linens and comfort.

Add an amazing restaurant and service second to none and I know why I'm home again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieMac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Pleasant small hotel. Rooms cozy and comfortable, but a bit small. Staff pleasant. Parking was much less of a hassle than others have said. (On-street parking is free 6pm-8am, and Friday 6pm until Mon 8am; AND there is a ~$7 parking lot immed next door -- so no real problem)

Downsides:
-- when the George Street bars close, it IS noisy! (air conditioner helped mask noise)
-- would be nice to have coffee in room
-- why do St John's hotels no put hooks in bathrooms to hang up clothes, towels etc?
-- room, especially bathroom, need exhaust fan -- after shower room steams up with lots of condensation

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landfall38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We've travelled the world and were in St. John's Newfoundland for a dear friends wedding. We can truly say that the accommodations are stellar for the rate, clean, modern and inviting. The beds are ultra comfortable with sheets that defy you to get out of bed in the morning. Whenever you do happen to get out of bed, wander downstairs for a welcome home from the dedicated and friendly staff. How about some great coffee? Then a world class breakfast. Break out and hit the city. When you finally return look for another warm welcome. If you didn't make dinner reservations, they will be sure to look after you on the bar side with Smoked Salmon, Lamb Popsicles and other faire. Their mussels are to die for. They have a great chef on site.

Don't take my word for it, just check them out on a Thursday or Friday. One of the more happening places in all of St. John's.

What really put this experience over the top was the care of the head innkeep who really does have a handle on everything. I think he could possible run an NFL franchise, as his mind is that detailed. Also, the others that worked there that frankly just cared about their job and clientele. A reflection of the idea of management.

We will have fond memories of Blue on Water, because they just care that much more than many places we've stayed. You can travel the world to find special places like this... it takes a long time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Apples2Oranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed here 3 nights. The staff was extremely nice and helpful with any questions we had. They are putting in an elevator, but it was not finished yet, so they helped carry our luggage upstairs. The hotel is located in the heart of St John's, so there is the expected city noise, and there was construction outside the hotel while we were there. The room was not large, but it was nicely decorated and comfortable. We would stay again if we ever return to St John's.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k_squared2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
568 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 22 in St. John's
719 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue on Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue on Water

Property: Blue on Water
Address: 319 Water St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue on Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue On Water Hotel St. John`s
Blue On Water St Johns
Blue On Water Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing