We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor but I didn't get the room to look at it, I came to sleep!”
Review of Blue on Water

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue on Water
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice decor but I didn't get the room to look at it, I came to sleep!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Although the rooms are nicely appointed. As other reviewers have stated, it is a very noisy hotel and we could hear the bar til way past midnight as well as other guests moving around in their rooms. On top of that, the only window (more of a skylight) had no blinds so the bright sun came shining in on us at 5 AM making for a short nights sleep. And finally, the woman who checked us in can only be described as unpleasant and acted like she was doing us a favor. We won't go back,

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    27
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
6
63
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St.Johns, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our first time at Blue, and when we walked through the door we were pleasantly surprised by the modern decor, it was beautiful. We stood in the entry for about 5 minutes and watched 3 servers walk past us, look at us, acknowledge us, but make no effort to see if we needed a table or had a reservation. When I finally asked a server where we should go to inquire about a table, she looked at us like we had 10 heads and rudely said " well ya like either in here or in the bar". Regardless, we looked past this and eventually got seated in the back and were given menus. 15 minutes later a waitress came and asked if we wanted coffee which we accepted and we were told that we would be given fresh milk. We got our coffees some time later without milk, and we also didn't get the water we asked for, but we couldn't mention anything before she was gone around the corner. 10 minutes later we got our orders taken and our milk and water.

Not only was our service poor, but the customers beside us were displeased with their service as well. I was able to see a server set a table, and as she did so she placed the cutlery and napkin on the table and continued to spray the table with disinfectant, covering all utensils. I was pretty concerned at this point. The same girl later cleaned the table next to us and managed to cover the seat back with a syrup of some sort, but didn't clean it up. I had to tell her about it so that no one's shirt got ruined when they sit in the seat.

Overal it was not a good experience and we will never go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmm937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here a week ago for our anniversary. The rooms are very small. I loved the decor. The furnishings and accessories were beautiful. The downfall is this hotel has walls that seem to be paper thin. I just couldn't sleep most of the night or following morning because of the noise. it wasn't that the people in other rooms were noisy, it was just the noise of general things like people moving furniture, which seemed to be going on forever and people walking across the floor upstairs. I left this place feeling very tired. As for the staff, they were all very nice, pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor so you don't hear all the noise over your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I saw this place online and took a chance...checked into the hotel in the bar?!@. A really neat spot...amazing rooms with modern deco with exposed brick/high quality. The bar is really nice.
The food is very flavourful...ask lots of questions before you order...some stuff is out of this world...others things are just okay (chicken). My flight was cancelled and it took me 2 seconds to decide to go back. i all be back

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St John's
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Awesome decor, excellent food, really nice bar! The staff are awesome! Love the huge shower and bath in the rooms and gone heated floor!! It's our close to home " get away" and we stay there a few times a year and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else... Although the parking selection isn't the greatest in downtown St Johns, it's truly a wonderful restaurant, hotel and bar!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercer654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

There are not too many hotel boutiques where you can get the quality and service that you get at Blue on Water. The premisis are amazing, tub and showers were divine (and I just had a standard room), beds were fluffy and inviting. The rate was phenominal considering the location and what I received.

The only thing that could have been better- and I made due - was that this hotel is not a new hotel with steel beams and concrete floors. If you have a heavy footed person above you, you can hear it. If you can turn to your "deafer side" and sleep through it, it's not so bad.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

My experience echoed previous reviews I collected. Hit or miss and mine was a near miss. For the price I did expect better. Overall service was good but the calamari appetizer was just luke warm and a little soggy. The salmon main was about medium temp when served but had a nice taste balance for farm salmon. I would not return on a personal visit. There are many more options in the neighbourhood for the same quality and for less cost.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Waylo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
266 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
379 reviews
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue on Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue on Water

Property: Blue on Water
Address: 319 Water St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blue on Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue On Water Hotel St. John`s
Blue On Water St Johns
Blue On Water Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing