We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for a 2nd time, and just as good as the first time.”
Review of Long's Hill Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Long's Hill Suites
Ranked #19 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed here in May 2010, and planned our family vacation around being able to stay here again. Once again, it was immaculate, and perfect for our family- 2 adults and a 3 year old, in the 2 bedroom, 2 floor apartment on Long's Hill. (On the 2nd and 3rd floors.)

By the time you factor in the savings from having a fully equipped kitchen, laundry, wireless, and parking, it's a very reasonable price to pay, even at the high season rates. The TV and DVD player are new, so no concerns there.

We fully plan to return.

Our only advice to future travellers related to the noise from Long's Hill - there is nothing anyone can do about this, but it's not always quiet, especially if you want to go to bed early- there are often a lot of people, plus there is the fire station just a few feet away. We grown-ups packed and used earplugs this time, and this helped a lot. It's less of an issue in the room with the queen bed in the back, but the room up front with the 2 twin beds can be noisy.

Otherwise, it's a perfect retreat for our family when we come back for our annual visit. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MCGKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 28 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

High quality accomodation with lots of space, very good beds and laundry facilities. Best of all was the location around the corner from The Rooms, very close to The Basilica, other historic churches and points of interest and within a 10 minute walk of downtown. We appreciated the parking pass as well as parking can be a challenge in St. John's. There is a clean, well organized corner store just up the road. You'll find a Tim Hortons and a very good breakfast place with wonderful homemade bread on Harvey Rd nearby. This was perfect accommodation for our family of 4 adults and it was cheaper because we stayed 3 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NancyinLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Part of my St. John's stay was work related and i had to interview some people. I got the owner's permission and it was just great. It was very comfortable to do interviews outside a formal office environment. I was relaxed, the applicants were relaxed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ralph_BMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

I have severe asthma so I have to move out whenever there is painting or sanding. This lovely apartment has every amenity one would need, fresh, inviting, excellent ventilation and excellent location. There is nothing negative to say. Very quiet and comfortable

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank downtownbnbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

I was in St. John's for business meetings, first time in the City. I was travelling with an associate and we wanted something nice and private for a few small meetings. This was simply beyond our expectations. I would have stayed on after our meetings were over except it was already booked. What a perfect set up for a family, two couples of somebody just wanting space and privacy in the cente of downtown

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ralph_BMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Just spent Canadian Thanksgiving weekend in the executive (3 bedroom) suite located on Lemarchant St. As you can see from the ratings I've provided everything was great: clean, fully equiped kitchen; 3 very comfortable bedrooms; 3 bathrooms, 2 with showers and a spacious well appointed living room. Only complaint is that, for the cost of a new flatscreen TV at Costco these days the owners could replace the old prejection TV. Had to watch the Leafs trounce Ottawa on a subpar old style projection TV with a faded picture. Not Good. Check with the owner, Dimitri, before you book if TV is important to you. On all other fronts this accomodation does qualify as "executive".

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluenoser01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longshill, Manager at Long's Hill Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2010

Thank you very much for your comments. As always we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay every time. We have upgraded to a flatscreen TV...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Perfect location, clean, beautifully decorated. Everything in the kitchen to prepare a Sunday dinner. Deadly quiet, 10 minute walk to everything downtown. If I lived in St. John's, this is where I would like to live. The owner's daughter came by one day with her mother to change the linens. What a simply beautiful child.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela_MO60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
352 reviews
Homeport Apartment Hotel
#12 of 24 in St. John's
204 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada St. John's
#10 of 24 in St. John's
551 reviews
Comfort Inn Airport
#9 of 24 in St. John's
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long's Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long's Hill Suites

Address: 69 Long's Hill, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1V3, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Hotel Class:3 star — Long's Hill Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heritage area of Downtown St. John's completely restored townhouse (circa 1892) offers unique experience of the old city. Tastefully decorated and furnished its suites incorporate all the amenities of the modern living. Conveniently located, half-way between Hotel Fairmont and Hotel Delta, next to Chess's Newfoundland famous fishing chips, behind Mile One Stadium, City Hall and Tourist information Center. Signal Hill, Cabot Tower, Rooms, Memorial University, Newfoundland Museum, Atlantic Ocean, St.John's Harbor and Fluvarium are within a walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Long's Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long's Hill Suites Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing