We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Cantwell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cantwell House
Ranked #9 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hosts Mary and Louie are some of the most cordial, entertaining and helpful hosts you'll find. They are great resources and wonderful ambassadors for St. John's. The B&B is in a great location a few blocks from The Rooms and has one of the best harbor views in St. John's. It is immaculate and the breakfasts are hearty and tasty. A rumor circulated last year that Cantwell House was closing - not true. It is open for business and a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalvia96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 105 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Cantwell House is one of the most attractive, well run B&B's we have ever stayed in in 50 plus years of traveling. The rooms are immaculately clean and tastefully furnished. Mary and her husband provide a delicious hot breakfast in their lovely dining room with freshly cut fruit, bacon and eggs, and homemade breads. They provide a warm caring atmosphere that makes a stay at Cantwell House a memorable one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

this is the 2nd time my sister and I have stayed at the Cantwell House and we'd never stop going back. When I thanked them very much I was told "we do the same for strangers". That really sums it up, you're treated just like family.
We stayed in rooms 4 and 5 on the top floor, lovely sitting room and the balcony to take in the view of the harbour.
The breakfast is more than ample with fresh fruit cocktail, yogurt, muffins plus every day a variety of hot meals. My sister had requested "Newfie steak" and a "camp breakfast" was served for the whole table. so accommodating.
Mary, Louie and Thelma really are a true testament to the Newfoundland hospitality.

Room Tip: Every room is a good choice, you wouldn't get a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beadnell7592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Words cannot describe the comfort you will get from staying at this BB - the combination of nice room, comfortable bed, and super hospitable owners leaves you feeling like you are part of their family. We stayed at Room 1 for 3 nights and couldn't have asked for a better accommodation. The breakfast was plentiful and varied from one morning to another. Mary and Loui were always going out of their way to help, offer advice and accommodate. The location is also excellent - within a 5 minute walk of all the action of downtown, while far enough to avoid the noise. Parking in front of the house is no problem, as the BB will give you a parking pass.

I would definitely stay here next time i visit Newfoundland!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel00911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Cantwell house was a lovely clean, welcoming and friendly B and B, situated near many of the sights in St. John's. the breakfasts were one of the best ever and it was great to eat the home cooked breakfast with the other guests. would definitely recommend this B and B - wonderful. A great ending to our amazing trip in Newfoundland, Think St. John's as a place has a bit to do to promote their tourist sights!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alrewas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed the last three nights of our Newfoundland adventure at the Cantwell House. On our arrival we were greated by Thelma who was very helpful and pleasant. We had an amazing room, so big and comfortable. After staying in quite a few small, but adequate rooms along the way, coming in to this room was uplifting. I hadn't realized how claustrophobic I had actually felt in some of the rooms until coming into this one....and having a little fridge was such a bonus for us. While this room faced Queens Rd, and we had the windows open, outside noise did not affect our sleep.
We did stay in a couple of places for more than one night in our travels, but only one other place serviced our room on a daily basis, emptying the garbage, generally tidying up and that was much appreciated.
Parking our rental car was no problem with having one of their parking passes.
Our hosts, Mary and Louis, were extremely helpful and accommodating, and wonderful to converse with. We learned a lot about living in St. John's from them.
In addition to our room there was a 'open' room/den on the top floor that led onto a balcony/patio from which one could see the vista of St. John's harbour. We were welcome to sit out there or in the den to relax. In this space was also a computer and printer for guests to use...another bonus with printing off boarding passes!
Breakfasts, served on the beautifully laid table in the formal dining room, were something to look forward to. The first morning we had ham and eggs and the second morning was bacon and eggs along with fresh fruit salad/yogurt/cereals/ and toast.
On our last morning we chose not to have breakfast as we were leaving for the airport at 0600, but Mary did offer to prepare one for us, which I thought was very kind of here.
While Cantwell House is up a few streets from Water St and on a hill, that was not a problem for us getting around on foot. It was a good location for us to set out from on our daily adventures.

Room Tip: We had the front bedroom facing Queens Rd. It is a HUGE room with queen bed, dresser, sofa, TV, desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very excellent place, well located to downtown-George St. and other downtown attractions. Great selection of eating places within walking distance. We stayed here for 1 night Excellent friendly service, with great breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Excellent view of downtown and the harbour from the 3rd floor sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 23 in St. John's
406 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 23 in St. John's
612 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 23 in St. John's
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 23 in St. John's
335 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantwell House

Address: 25 Queens Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cantwell Hotel St Johns
Cantwell House Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing