We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great humourous people :D”
Review of Cantwell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cantwell House
Ranked #7 of 24 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bancroft, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great humourous people :D”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I had never booked at a b&b ( Mary and Louis werent aware of this till we checked out ) and they unknowingly gave us such an awesome first experience with staying at b&bs that we booked b&bs for the remainder of our trip to newfoundland! Mary was a gracious host, filled us in on parking tips and right away told us all of the places within reasonable walking distance of their home. She even drove us up to Signal Hill so we could start the hike from the TOP of the hill ( the easy way ) and walk back to the b&b in our own time. I would certainly recommend them, the house was gorgeous and the breakfast was one of the best we have had during our trip. ( still here ) They certainly set a high bar for the other b&bs out there! They are a very cute and funny couple, loved staying with them. Previous reviews on here mention problems with booking, we had none of the sort, and by the way, their stairs do look refurbished so I HIGHLY doubt they had put someone out of their home for a higher bidder. They do have rooms on the main floor that were probably already booked.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lysslloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    16
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
56
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
King City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We were 2 adults and one child and we stayed in 2 rooms on the top floor for 5 nights. It was a great experience and we would stay there again in a heartbeat. The view was 5-star, the breakfasts delicious and the beds were super cozy. Mary and Lewis were very kind and hospitable hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingCityDancemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My mother and I arrived in St.Jonh's with no plans at all-only excitement. This was our first trip alone in over a decade and our first B&B stay in just as long. We felt fortunate to have made a great choice in staying with Mary in her beautiful and welcoming home. Her gueats too were fantastic and helpful. In a busy world full of impersonal hotel stays, this was an exceptional treat! You couldn't ask for a better location(or view).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flanagan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Cantwell House on 3 occasions for several nights each in Sept-Oct 2012. Our experience echoes the positive comments made by other writers. Right from the start Mary's warm welcome and our lovely, comfortable room (#3), reassured us that we'd made the right choice. All the good things we'd heard about Newfoundland hospitality were evident at Cantwell House. Each time we returned, it really was like "coming home" - we knew we'd be comfortable, well-fed and cared for. The house itself is full of heritage charm, ideally located downtown and the view from the upstairs balcony is great.

Room Tip: Room #2 faces away from the street towards the harbour so may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Cantwell House - what a great way to start the first two days of our 16 day vacation in Newfoundland (September 2012)! Mary is a warm, hospitable and helpful host who provided us with delicious breakfasts (and fun stories!) and great suggestions on what to see and where to eat in St. John's and surrounding area. Her home is lovely and within walking distance to all downtown venues which made for great convenience. We stayed in one of the two rooms on the top floor of the house which has a shared sitting area with a small balcony overlooking St. John's Harbour and Signal Hill - superb view. A great stay and highly recommended! Thanks again Mary! C. and M. Bell, Toronto

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed at Cantwell House a few times over the last 3 years. We travel to St. John's periodically as we have kids attending Memorial. Our first stay we were there for an entire week. We had a different breakfast every morning and it was always delicious. You will definitely be fueled to start your day and won't be hungry! Mary & Lou are wonderful, I cannot begin to explain how they make you feel at home and go above and beyond for their guests. The location of the B&B is convenient and with walking to downtown and Signal Hill. There is a deck on the 3rd floor that provides a spectacular view of Signal Hill and the Narrows, a perfect place to watch the sun come up while having morning coffee or to look at the Cabot Tower all lit up at night. The rooms are great, comfy beds, lots of pillows and fluffy towels. Whenever we plan a trip to St. John's, booking a room at Cantwell House is the first thing we do. Only downfall is when we book accomodations anywhere else, nothing measures up to Cantwell House.

Room Tip: We've stayed mostly in room #3 it has a queen size bed and a pullout sofa, electric fireplace an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaT361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I booked a three-night stay at the Cantwell House B&B for the start of a nine-day holiday in Newfoundland and Labrador. The Cantwell House is quite well located in the city - within walking distance to the downtown and all those famous streets! Just be prepared for the steep climbs up and down the hills!.
The house itself is very comfortable - we were given the third floor bedroom - queen bed, shared bath, but no one else was on the third floor, so we had it all to ourselves. I believe the third floor is rented out to family groups usually. There is a living room on the third floor and a computer with printer available to visitors. The view form the third floor balcony is stunning - looking out to the harbour and Chain Rock at the harbour mouth.
Our very charming hostess, Mary, made our visit especially good - lots of stories about the old days in Newfoundland and lots of advice about where to go and how long it will take to walk there (always double the estimate!). Breakfast each day offered quite a lot of variety - cold cereals, eggs, fresh fruit, yogurts - no one could possibly go hungry!
Definitely a good way to start a holiday in Newfoundland and Labrador.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannonvillegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
568 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
278 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 22 in St. John's
719 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantwell House

Property: Cantwell House
Address: 25 Queens Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cantwell Hotel St Johns
Cantwell House Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing