We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - great location - great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I was overnighting in St. John's to see friends and I took advantage of my Marriott points to stay at this location. I did not book far ahead. I understand that if I paid for the room it would have been $199.00 which is not cheap for a St. John's hotel, but hey, it was on points, so who is complaining. And it is a very nice hotel.

Here is a quick summary:
-Front desk staff exceptional - swift and friendly.
-Nice rooms, had everything you would need. Harbour facing room view was amazing - looking straight out the narrows. I did not have a room with a view, but I could see in through one as the maid was changing the sheets!
-Free parking directly across the road, free internet access, both big pluses. Little snack shop in lobby. Fitness area. It would have been nice to have a pool - I actually brought my bathing suit thinking there might be one. Nice restaurant/bar with great view. Good business area with computer.
-Not far from nice tourist sites, good restaurants. Salon right next door.
-One note: they really should improve the signage for the hotel itself (I think I could see at least three signs for the restaurant inside, but the one sign 'Marriott Courtyard' was at street level and obscured by people standing in front of it. ) I almost passed it as I was looking for the hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45DegreesNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 444 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2009

Overall the hotel was very nice - good rooms, good location, good amenities. What really stood out was the service, particularly from the Front Desk staff. They were extremely friendly and helpful, among the best I've encountered at any hotel any where.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swift-Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

There is a reason why this is the number one rated hotel at Trip Advisor. It's a great place to stay. It's about 7-10 minutes walking from George Street. Free Parking. Nice Restaurant for breakfast in the lobby. Little snack area by the front desk. However, the main 2 reasons (other than location) why anyone stays at a hotel are the following:

Staff: The front desk staff are top notch. Each one was super friendly and very approachable. The front desk manager is very friendly, plus she is ultra professional when you require assistance. They also work as a team, where if one doesn't know the precise answer to a question, they ask each other and within the team, they have the resources to get you the right answer within 2 minutes. No chances are taken. They do everything to get you the right answer or the best recommendation.

The restaurant recommendations were perfect for us. We merely described what we wanted and out came 3 quick recommendations and a circled map where we could find them, as well as a place we could get a drink beforehand. Reservations required? No problem. They will call for you and book it.

We even needed an idea of where to go outside of St. John's and got a few recommendations there too. All were great.

The staff were great and really made our trip much bigger and better than we initially thought.

Rooms: The rooms are standard size. The beds are a little hard, but no worries. Bathrooms were fine too. The habour rooms offer a great view on a sunny day. It was all very clean -- which was key to us. The only gripe I had about the rooms is that the doors slammed. There is no soft pneumatic closer, so you hear the odd door slam when someone enters/exits their room.

Hardwire cables for online access in your rooms. No wifi. There is a little office in the front lobby that has a public computer that anyone can use to go online for anything. Nice touch (and it's free!)

All together, a great choice for a hotel. Walking distance from downtown, great staff, nice clean rooms. You can't ask for more than that.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Myself, my husband and our 1 year old daughter stayed here for 2 nights.

Pros: free parking (we had a car rental, so this was one of the reasons we picked it), Smitty's in lobby (good value for money, great service), little snack shop thing in lobby (had a microwave so I could heat up my daughter's food), QUIET room! (room faced street - no noise), huge bathroom - must be either a newer hotel or reno'd because everything seemed fresh and up-to-date.

Cons: mattress was really hard and not that comfortable, pillows were small (just a preference issue as I'm used to the king size when sleeping on a king bed), just enough room for a playpen for my daughter to sleep in and park the stroller. No pool - that would have made this hotel perfect! A bit far to walk to the main area on Water/George Street, but it can be done.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nora45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

This hotel has everything I need on a business trip: clean, spacious room; free internet (Ethernet in the rooms, wi-fi in the lobby); and excellent service. The front-desk staff were the highlight of the stay: helpful, friendly and efficient, changing room assignments and reservations as requested, and generally taking some of the stress out of our busy visit. I would gladly stay here again next time I'm in St. John's.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed at the Mariott St. John’s from the 16th-18th of March. Great location! We chose this place for tha reason, we got married during our stay and suggested to friends and family to stay there for their visit.

Staff were awesome! Thank you Laura and Sharon for everything!
Restaurent staff stayed late to accommodate out meet n’ greet, Thank you!

Hands down best view…straight out the narrows. We (along with other guests) spent many hours watching ships arriving and leaving.

The location to downtown also made this place a great pic. Located only minutes from the base of Signal Hill Road and minutes the other way from the downtown shops and tourist attractions!

There were two business centers where you could check you e-mail or flightimes. Wonderfull exercise facility (didn’t use it, but it was there).

Plaese tell your staff thank you for making our wedding party ,family and friends comfortable during their stay!!
I have pictures that i will be uploading in the next few days!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oakley75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for about 7 days, checked out and traveled to PEI for five days, came back and checked in for one more night before our flight home.

Both times we came to check in, we arrived much earlier than the check-in time but the front desk staff checked with their housekeeping staff on their little walkie-talkies to make sure our room was ready. The second time we checked in our room was not ready yet so they immediately did some juggling and put us in a room that was ready and even gave us an upgrade!

The front desk staff was absolutely amazing! They had plenty of maps and suggestions as to where to go and what to do. They even called around for us to check movie times and bus schedules! The front desk supervisor above all made an effort to remember our names and anything that we told her before.

The chocolate chip cookies in the late afternoon were just amazing! They always bake them at 4pm and are ready for 4:12pm (on the dot!). They got so used to me coming and grabbing one that on the 5th day of our stay while I was having a well needed bath (after having hiked up the trails of signal hill) around the time the cookies were made, the front desk person on staff at the time called our room and let my boyfriend know/remind us that the cookies were ready and fresh out of the oven!!!

Lastly, because this property is still fairly new (about 2 or 3 years old I think) they have not had the pleasure of having very many Platinum Marriott Rewards Members so they said they were super excited about us staying there and treated us like royalty! That doesn't mean to say that if you are not a platinum rewards member you wont get the same treatment though.

As a front desk supervisor (at a different hotel chain) myself, I would STRONGLY recommend this Hotel for anybody and everybody if you get the chance!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank funguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
856 reviews
Downtown
Delta Hotels by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
621 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 24 in St. John's
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland

Address: 131 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $107 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland is an award winning hotel in Newfoundland and Labrador Canada. We're ideally located in the downtown business, entertainment and historic district, just a short walk from Signal Hill and the famous George Street. Beautiful selection of modern Harbour view room and luxurious suite options. On site is one of St. John's newest culinary delights Harbour Room Restaurant and Lounge. Complimentary wireless internet and parking. We invite you to experience true Newfoundland hospitality combined with the highest of standards you have grown to trust in a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. John`s Newfoundland Hotel St. John`s
Courtyard St Johns
Marriott St. John's
Courtyard St. John's
St Johns Courtyard
St. John's Marriott
St. John's Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott St. John's Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing