We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good location between the main part of town and Signal Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights during a recent business trip to St. John's and Mount Pearl. This hotel is the one that my company uses, and we get a pretty good rate here. My first impressions were very good. My colleague and I arrived late on a rainy night and were welcomed by a smiling face at reception. The check-in procedure was done in no time, and we were given a quick run-down of what is available in the hotel, and nearby.

My room was really good, overlooking the harbour and Signal Hill in the distance. I had a comfortable king sized bed, with an easy chair in the corner and a desk in the other. The flat screen TV was great, with lots of programs, and the bathroom was well appointed. The only things that were not quite ideal were: 1) there was no security lock box in the room, and 2) the WiFi speed was not great (especially on the Sunday). Otherwise, I had a very comfortable stay here.

The hotel is located right next to the docks, and the main part of the town is just 5-10 minutes away by foot. You can also walk to the Geo science center (15 minutes) or Signal Hill (30 minutes), although make sure you are prepared for rain as the weather can change on a dime up here. I did not eat an evening meal in this hotel, but I did have a drink at the bar a couple of times, and enjoyed looking at the view across the harbour. The breakfast here is good, although you have to be careful when ordering to make sure you get what you need (more than once I ended up with unwanted hash browns). There is an area in the restaurant set aside for a buffet, but the hotel does not use this for a breakfast buffet; perhaps this would be a good idea for the future.

All told, I had a good time here, and would definitely stay here next time I visit St. John's.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OilRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review, it is very much appreciated by everyone here at our property! We are glad to hear that overall you had a great experience here, our front desk always loves to welcome with a smile! We have noted your suggestions and will work on implementing them, unfortunately we are not able to have a buffet everyday (Sundays only) but you are right, the breakfast to order is fantastic. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 442 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

In St. John's, hotels are not cheap. We stayed twice, first time we had three nights in a musty, dark room on the second floor (for which we paid extra for a Jr suite), with a view of Water Street, not much of a harbour view at all. On our second visit we got a standard room on the 4th floor which was much nicer in all respects than the suite: roomy, nice shower, great view of the harbour, bright, not musty; pillows still uncomfortable. I wonder if the higher rooms have been renovated? Location is good, staff are pretty good in general. Parking is free and convenient. Try to get some fresh cookies in the afternoon, although they seem to be hit and miss, forgotten on some days (we did get them on our first day).

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors, they seem to be nicer/newer and have better views of the har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateKewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced these issues at our property. We take great pride in ensuring that all rooms are fresh and clean. All of our suites have indeed been renovated in the past year during the same time period. Our delicious freshly baked cookies are prepared every evening for check-in time. We are glad to hear that you found the location and parking convenient. We hope that you are able to return to our property soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is not the most glamorous but our room was very comfortable and ideal for our two night stay with our three year old son. They upgraded us to a junior suite to give us plenty of room and a sofa bed for our son and the staff were extremely accommodating and helpful. The hotel is a short walk from Downtown St John's and there is a restaurant in the hotel which is handy if you just want something quick and simple (Its a Smitty's which is a chain here that does burgers etc).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrib0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you and your family enjoyed your suite! We hope that you can come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very pleasant, knowledgeable staff. I certainly will stay there on future business trips. Attached bar and family style restaurant seems popular. I did not have time to try the exercise facilities, since normally this would be important to me. The location is certainly within walking distance of other city attractions. I had no trouble with the WiFi internet access.

Room Tip: I asked for a junior suite overlooking the harbour side on the 3'rd floor. No street noise. Br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupido D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSales, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are very happy to hear that you had a good experience here and we hope that you are able to visit again soon (we think you will like the fitness facility very much!). Thank you for choosing our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Was really impressed with this Courtyard Marriott. The hotel is very new and is well located on Duckworth Street, close to the harbour and Water Street's restaurants and shops.

The room was impeccably clean, linens were clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Free Wifi was fast and easy to access. The bathroom was functional, water runs hot, and vanity supplies were as expected of a Courtyard Marriott. The room furniture is comfortable. Spent a lot of time working on my laptop in the lounge chair with the footrest. The work table has a small pullout as well that enables lots of workspace if you need it and are preparing for a meeting like I was. Flat screen TV is large, rotates and has a good selection of channels.

The room fridge was a nice touch. We'd bought some NFLD caught fish to take home with us and have stored in the fridge's freezer.

The location can't be beat. Better than the Delta and Sheraton, both of which are tired hotels not up to the snuff of this Courtyard Marriott.

Our harbour view room on the 7th floor was impossible to beat, with a view of the Signal Hill and the bustling port.

Front desk staff are very attentive, extremely friendly, and I would say way above the typical Courtyard Marriott standard.

I used the business centre to do some printing. The computer is free to use and printing is free as well.

One of the upsides of staying at the Courtyard Marriott in St. John's is the free parking, right across the street. So easy and saves $10-$15 that would have been spent per night had we stayed at the Delta and Sheraton.

I'd rate this Courtyard Marriott above others we've stayed at and would highly recommend it in this price range if you want to be in downtown St. John's

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cabbagetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSales, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that our rooms, staff, views and location worked well for you and your group. It sounds as though our ammenties were just what you needed. We hope that you are able to come back and visit us again soon, thank you for choosing our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on a sightseeing trip for 3 nights in May. The location for seeing downtown St. John's was excellent and the view of the harbour from our room was great even though we had to pay extra for a harbour view room. Staff was courteous and the room and halls were clean. However this property was not up to the standard of similar Marriott properties that I have stayed at in other towns. The room needed maintenance: wobbly arm chair, toilet that took forever to refill after flushing, unpainted patch in the ceiling, chipped paint on the door frame, television reception was poor, but worst of all were the elevators that broke down at least twice and forced us to climb to the top floor room we had been assigned. The only ice machine we could find was on the 5th. floor, two down from our assigned room. When we left we had to haul all of our luggage down the stairwells to the ground floor. No compensation was offered. I expect that since this hotel has had limited competition and the high demand for accommodations by the off-shore oil drilling companies, have allowed this property to charge very high rates without providing the commensurate facilities. We left disappointed.

Room Tip: Perhaps consider one of the newer hotels just opened or opening soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMorris2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSales, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory and that you experienced these issues at our property. We are looking into these issues and they will be attended to promptly. We are happy to hear that the location and views were a good fit for you and we hope that the next time you visit our city, you will consider staying with us again and allow us to provide the type of experience that you are accustomed to and that we are known for delivering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our family of four stayed on Saturday May 11th while in the city for a family function. Our room was very spacious and clean. Staff were all very friendly. The food in the restaurant was ok.
We had an enjoyable night.
Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSales, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review, it sounds as though you and your family enjoyed your stay and we are glad that our friendly staff could add a little extra joy to your trip. We hope that you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
856 reviews
Downtown
Delta Hotels by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 24 in St. John's
410 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland

Address: 131 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $109 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland is an award winning hotel in Newfoundland and Labrador Canada. We're ideally located in the downtown business, entertainment and historic district, just a short walk from Signal Hill and the famous George Street. Beautiful selection of modern Harbour view room and luxurious suite options. On site is one of St. John's newest culinary delights Harbour Room Restaurant and Lounge. Complimentary wireless internet and parking. We invite you to experience true Newfoundland hospitality combined with the highest of standards you have grown to trust in a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. John`s Newfoundland Hotel St. John`s
Courtyard St Johns
Marriott St. John's
Courtyard St. John's
St Johns Courtyard
St. John's Marriott
St. John's Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott St. John's Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing