We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fits the Bill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Calgary, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fits the Bill”
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We just spent 10 days at the Extended Stay Deluxe. Nothing fancy, but is clean and delivers on the promise of a comfortable stay. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to downtown restaurants, so we didn't cook as much as we expected. Bring ear plugs -- the walls are so thin that we could hear the dog in the next room playing with his chew toy.

  • Liked — location; kitchenette
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Freedom005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    82
    55
    16
    12
See reviews for
55
76
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We just finished a 3 night stay at this hotel. We were in St John's to visit family. My husband and I were travelling with our 13 month old baby. We needed a place that had a microwave for warming his milk, and a fridge to keep it in. Every room at this hotel has a kitchenette with a stovetop, microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle, and pots and dishes.

As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel does not clean your room on a daily basis. This was just fine with us. We would just visit the front desk whenever we needed more towels. The room was basic, with a cable television, and a DVD player (I am unsure whether or not the front desk had any DVDs), and was very clean. I often had to wipe up the floor when my baby made a mess, and no extra dirt at all came up on the cloth. I was comfortable letting my little one crawl all over the room. We tied up the cupboards so he couldn't constantly bang the doors. The hallway into the room was just the right size to set up his crib in (so he wasn't right beside our bed). We made a quick trip to Zellers and bought a shower curtain bar and a shower curtain which effectively screened him off from us so he could go to sleep and we could still watch TV. The room was very quiet. We were never bothered by noises from other rooms, and there was also a portable air conditioner.

We weren't doing any sightseeing, but the hotel was in a great location. If you turn right onto the street the hotel sits on, you will pass a Shopper's Drug Mart, (under a 5 min walk away), a convenience store, and a little further down the road, a Sobeys and a Zellers. I'm not the best navigator, so I appreciated the fact I could find anything I needed on one road.

The hotel also has a very basic continental breakfast, offering coffee and tea, juice, two types of cold cereal, bagels and toast. We hardly used it as we just bought everything we needed at Sobeys upon arrival.

The hotel also has an exercise room with some treadmills,(which we didn't use), and an all-important laundry room that was self-serve and open all night. As they don't service your room every day, they have garbage rooms on each floor where you can dump your garbage (and baby diapers) whenever needed. There was no bad smell coming from this room.

At the front desk, you can order frozen dinners to reheat in the microwave. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The price was less than most of the other hotels that we looked at, and it worked out perfectly. We will definately stay there again.

  • Liked — The kitchenette and the location!
  • Disliked — We had no complaints!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Winterstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

We were in St. John's to see Bob Dylan 05/23 and 05/24 2008. We did not want nor need a car during our stay and The Extended Stay Deluxe was just fine for this. It is close enough to walk into the downtown area in 5-10 minutes. However, it is up a huge steep hill from New Gower Street where "downtown" begins. We walked back one night but cabbed it back for 6-7 dollars from the cab stand on George Street every other time. Since this hotel was less than half the cost of the downtown properties it was well worth it.

The room itself was large and comfortable including a kitchen area with a refrigerator. The room was not drab; it was not elegant; it was perfectly fine. If you want your room cleaned and bed made on a daily basis there is an extra charge, as is explained on the website. Fresh towels can be had at no extra charge. Again...since this hotel was less than half the cost of the downtown properties it was well worth it.

One area where this hotel really excelled was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. From check-in (a breeze) to check-out (an even faster breeze) everyone who worked there could not have been more friendly or helpful.

A great place to stay in St. John's and use the money you save on your room to get some lobster at Velma's (Water Street), some Australian bon temps and great food at Tangled up in Blue (Bates Hill), and a pint at the Trinity Pub (up the stairs at the end of George Street).

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nychas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

After reviewing a number of St. John's hotels, our agent recommended the Extended Stay Deluxe and she was right. It is a very nice property that was converted from apartments about 3 years ago. All the rooms and beds and quite nice. There is a cooktop and fridge in every room as well as microwave and coffee maker. High speed internet is available for $4.99 for the stay and breakfast of cereal, juice and toast/bagel is included. Towels are replaced daily but housekeeping is not as frequent. The policy is spelled out at check-in.The staff was very helpful and pleasant. In all, a good bargain for a nice property.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank FarAndWide_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We were picked up at the airport by a wonderful fellow named Darren who was more than hospitable. We stayed at this accommodation 3 times during our 26 days in Newfoundland. We found the staff to be very congenial and helpful. The continental breakfasts could well be improved. They are the very minimum as far as we were concerned. We have stayed at other hotels that offered much better. It is a great place for long term stays. They do not do daily maid service which we like. their rates fluctuate according to how ful St. John's is, very annoying.

  • Liked — Airport pickup and helpfulness by staff
  • Disliked — no decent continental breakfast and no maid service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank angeliclovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannersville, PA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

We stayed here for 4 nights, and I love this hotel.

It has a kitchenette with fridge, micro, sink, dishes, silverware etc.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

The place is also spolessly clean. You don't even have to ask for extra towels and pillows- they are already there. 4 big bath towels in the bathroom was nice to find, as were the 2 extra pillows.

The room was large and comfortable, and the rooms have large free-standing portable a/c units, which work quite well. There is a large casement window that opens also.

The hotel is in a quiet residential area. It is a hike from the waterfront, but if you have a car it doesn't matter.

I would definitely stay here again. Try it- you'll like it!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, great staff, fantastic room, extra towels, pillows in the room, quiet location.
  • Disliked — They don't make your bed every day.
  • Tips/Secrets — They only do a full room cleaning once a week, and you have to make your own bed. Just be aware of this in advance. They do come in and empty garbage, replace towels, and touch up the room. The place is so nice, you won't mind. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mrsfixit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

Extremely friendly helpful staff, very clean hotel. It's a good walk to St George & Water Streets, (& watch those hills coming back!!) but I guarantee you, it's where I'll stay next time too.
Generous continental breakfast too!

  • Liked — NO SMOKING!!!!
  • Disliked — I didn'
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank GMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
390 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
282 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada St. John's
#9 of 22 in St. John's
531 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
728 reviews
Capital Hotel
#14 of 22 in St. John's
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown

Property: Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown
Address: 222 Lemarchant Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2H7, Canada (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms equipped with mini-refrigerator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe St. John`s-Downtown Hotel St. John`s
Extended Stay St Johns
Extended Stay St. John's
St. John's Extended Stay
St Johns Extended Stay
Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing