We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rooms

The Rooms
Ranked #3 of 92 things to do in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Worthwhile attraction if you are interested in Newfoundland history and culture. Awesome panoramic views from the restaurant.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“School Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

What an awesome place to take a group of kids to get them to view the history and exhibits of their province. It is a well laid out building and has many intriguing rooms and displays

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    276
    70
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
City of Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good museum but the food was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent part of the morning touring the museum but the best part of all was having lunch in the café on the upper floor. The food was excellent and the view down the length of St John's harbor was spectacular. Go for the view and the food and throw in some culture you won't regret it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very interesting exhibits. A must see.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

It is a beautiful building. We lucked out and there was a short orientation talk when we arrived. It gave a good overview of the building layout and the displays on hand. Very useful. The building contains an art gallery, a museum and the archives. There was an exhibit by an artist from the Maritimes when we were there. I was chagrined to say I had never heard of her but her work was spectacular. That alone was worth the visit but there was so much more. The other art work was well worth seeing. The museum was great with all the different areas of interest. The views near the restaurant are amazing. It really is a must see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So etching for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great art, history, and lots of things for kids to do. And then there's the cafe! Amazing food!! All with the best view in St. John's.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

There is something for everyone there: natural history, anthropology, a fancy restaurant, photos, art, friendly staff, and more! We loved the place, especially the gallery with the story of native people in Newfoundland. There was also a nice exhibit of ancient boat paintings. We spent about 3 hours there, including a late lunch, but we had to rush. I would recommend 3 hours without counting eating time.
Don't miss it, it really teaches a lot about the province and there is a lot to see!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rooms also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to The Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing