We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rooms

The Rooms
Ranked #3 of 91 things to do in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Worthwhile attraction if you are interested in Newfoundland history and culture. Awesome panoramic views from the restaurant.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Beautiful location, fantastic art and museum exhibition. Great views across the harbour
Special exhibition on landscapes was really great. Only disappointment, closing too early (5pm)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jason045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    273
    70
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Rooms are out of scale for the rest of St. John's harbor, but once you get past that it is quite worth a visit. Everything here is well thought out and well executed. The themed displays, which I understand rotate, are small but very informative and good quality. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can comment on the food. But, for us, the reason for visiting was the view over the harbor. The view alone is well worth the trip as St. John's harbor is beautiful and The Rooms are purpose built to showcase it. As always, everyone we spoke to was very friendly, as was everyone we encountered in Newfoundland.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good introduction to NFLD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Keep in mind that museum is open late on Wednesday and is free at this time (best time to visit any museum!)

While pretentious in design (I have never understood the tactic of oversized rooms with hardly anything in them) The Rooms contains a variety of things to see. Other museums in NFLD go into more detail; however, The Rooms provides a very good overview of local history, geology, and culture. The traveling exhibits are interesting.

The views really are incredible.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeVentureForth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A perfect museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Rooms is a beautifully designed museum with incredible views and terrific exhibition. The current Mary Pratt exhibit is one of the best I've ever seen. We also enjoyed the section devoted to exploring the lives and customs of the various peoples who've built Newfoundland. Topping it all off was an excellent lunch at The Rooms restaurant (be sure to book).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Well laid out centre.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visited the rooms to see the Mary Pratt show but thoroughly enjoyed the landscape show and the aboriginal displays as well. There was a lot of information on Nfld here and I would recommend it especially for tourists.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marion62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rooms also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to The Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing