We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gr8 Stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 St Johns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 St Johns
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gr8 Stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Great stay, great value, good location. The staff are friendly, service was great and a clean room. On check in I was concerned with the amount of noise in the hallways with all the kids wired on sugar and hyped up from swimming. I was thinking it was going to be a very noisy night but not at all. Even in the morning it was not bad. Housekeeping was great, room was done daily. The only complaint was that the room could have used a sofa or a love seat. There were two dining chairs but not comfortable to watch television. All around a great stay and great value for the price. Have stayed and many hotels in the city and this place was great as well.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KenCPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    176
    96
    33
    24
See reviews for
288
110
28
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

For the money (about $115-120 a night) it is as economical and value oriented as you can get in St. John's as hotels are expensive. It is a Super 8 - if you know them, then you know what you are getting. It is a new one so rooms are clean, they have flat panel tvs, spacious enough. NOthing fancy here folks, it is a standard $90 a night hotel that can charge $120 because of the market. Breakfast is included - dry cereal from hoppers, toaster with 3-4 kinds of bread and bagels, a juice machine and coffee maker. Nothing standouts - it was comfortable and clean and pretty close to the airport and not too far from downtown (can't walk it - need to rent a car or take a taxi or even the bus). For our last night before flying out it was the comfort and value we wanted. I heard it has a pool and waterslide that kids enjoy but can't actually address that personally.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunsequitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Was very satisfied with Super 8 Motel. Hotel is in a great location close to St. John's airport and is an ideal place to stay upon arrival for a night or two before trekking on trips outside of St. John's

The bed linens were extremely clean, which for me is among the most important features when comparing hotels of this class level

The front desk staff (morning and night) are friendly and helpful. The person attending to the breakfast area was very friendly an very diligent in making sure that everything was well stocked. The housekeeping staff area also extremely friendly and welcoming. Rita was among the most friendly and helpful housekeeping staff member. How staff can be so friendly and accommodating speaks to

Breakfast was fairly standard for a hotel of this star level. I appreciated having boiled eggs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cabbagetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very well located hotel near the airport and 10 minutes from downtown with plenty of free parking. General cleanliness is good.

Expect treatment by the front desk depending on who you booked your room with. I was placed in an older room because I was a priceline customer. They saw it on their screen, and treat you accordingly. They said this to me when I asked for a modification to my reservation. If they do so without my knowing as a customer, or say due to my reservation method, then fine I can probably understand, but they shouldn't tell that "because you booked through Priceline" to customers, making feel remorse for using Priceline. They don't know if a customer paid the full standard sale rate through Priceline, or if they bid on it. Highly unacceptable to treat customers differently like that telling them to their faces like that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Czestnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerford
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

was there for the rottary music festival for my school, with mothers day just 2 weeks away i was out shopping and saw something my mom would love so i took 30 dollars she gave me for food and got it. needless to say i left it behind right by the corner of the bed so as soon as i realized i had left it i called and they claimed it wasnt there. i know for sure I DID leave it there so there ARE SOME NOT SO HONEST STAFF. my poor mother was dissappointed she didnt recieve her present and called and called they claim it was never seen what a lie Never trust them again VERY DISPLEASED WITH THIS SO WAS MOM

Room Tip: just be aware of staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyMacDonald, General Manager at Super 8 St Johns, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Please accept my apologies that something went wrong during your stay. Our hotel has a lost and found program for any items that are left by guests. When items are found in a guestroom, the item is marked into our logbook and the hotel keeps the items for 2 months. I know it is disheartening to lose a gift that you bought for your mother, but our housekeeping staff could not find the item that was misplaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel seems nice when you walk in, but everything changed for the worse after that. There is no soundproofing at all. Conversations in the room next to your room or outside are easily overheard and sleep is difficult when the hotel is hosting a school group (which is frequently, from other comments). On the second night the man in the room next to mine fell asleep with his TV on full blast. Knocking on his door didn't wake him up, and the staff at the service desk just shrugged and said there was nothing they could do.

Aside from that (hotels aren't for sleeping in, right?) the "non-smoking" room stank of smoke and the bathroom was littered with long dark hair. The ironing board was broken, and the wifi only worked every once in a while.

On the up side the bed was quite comfortable, and the extra-long pillows were awesome. The location was good for memorial, only a short 20 minute walk, and taxis to downtown were only about $15. I didn't get a chance to see the pool, and opted for breakfast across the road at Tim Hortons instead of the continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get on the top floor and in a corner room to minimize sound problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyMacDonald, General Manager at Super 8 St Johns, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest, please accept my apologies that you experienced problems during your stay and that these problems were not resolved during your time with us. If you would like to further discuss your expereince could you please contact me @ 709-739-8888.

Once again, please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Comfort Inn Airport
#10 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Ramada St. John's
#9 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 St Johns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St Johns

Property: Super 8 St Johns
Address: 175 Higgins Line, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 4N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 St Johns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 80 guestrooms to choose from, including junior suites, Jacuzzi suites and kid’s suites, check in and check out Super 8 Motel St. John’s. We’re the first choice where most travelers stay for hotels and motels in St. John’s, NL. Why? It could be our great rooms, featuring super comfortable beds, modern furnishings, mini-fridge and microwave. Perhaps it’s our free Super Start breakfast or complimentary high-speed Internet access. Maybe it’s our shimmering indoor heated pool with waterslide, water mushroom and hot tub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 St Johns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St. John's
Super Eight St. John's
St. John's Super Eight
St. John's Super 8
Super 8 St Johns Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing