We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hometel on Signal Hill
Ranked #6 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four night in July. The location can't be beat - close to restaurants and bars. Parking situation is a bit odd, but seems to work.

We were on the third floor and there is no elevator. The room was very clean and comfortable although it was quite small. The desk staff were extremely helpful. The breakfast is a tad above your average chain hotel fare.

Although I am not sure its worth the money, my rating is based on location and cleanliness, as well as the helpful desk staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 211 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

As this was a family trip we took over one whole building. We liked the convenience of taking our breakfast back to the house in the baskets provided. We used the large kitchen for the rest of the meals. The living room became a bedroom for 2 of the children. The adjacent bathroom was great and the pullout couch was the comfiest we have ever come across. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We also appreciated the free laundry. ( we brought our own soap)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

While the property was not lavish, it certainly provided good value. The rooms (2) were clean, service was great and the continental breakfast was good. Try and get to breakfast early as they did run out of a few things towards the end (9:30). Location was great as it provided a peek at the harbour and a fairly short (~15 minute) walk to lots of pubs and great eateries.

Room Tip: Upper (3rd) floor rooms are larger and a little better view but a little more$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

we stayed in the hotel for two nights in june. the hotel is not bad, our room was fine, breakfast was o.k (a bit crowded in a small dining room) and there were no parking problems. the first room given to us was in the 3rd floor with neither elevator nor airconditioning but when we asked to change we got a much better one in the first floor, spacious, airconditioned and with an attached living room with a small kitchen, refrigerator etc. in short very comfortable. we did not like the wall to wall carpets which were stained and did not look clean. the service was superb, especially by Greg Blackwood and Jillian Delaney who did their utmost to assist us in our stay, directing us to the right places and helping us with online check in problems with airCanada. they did it with courtesy and lot of patience which was very helpful and pleasant. the location is good, easy access to the airport and after 2 weeks in nova scotia and new foundland it was good finale to a wonderful journey.

Room Tip: no elevators. check the existance of airconditioning when the weather is hot. some rooms do not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yehuda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was a clean room and the bed was comfortable. There was free long distance to Canada and the US which was really nice. It is an easy drive to the airport as we had a very early flight. It would have been helpful if there had been at least one chair in the room, it's not a lot of fun to sit on the bed to watch TV. The breakfast area was not set up conveniently, wasn't appealing and there was no coffee ready. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The location was very close to downtown without too much of the noise. The accomodations were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommending places to see or restaurants to go to, which all turned out to be great. We would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ea640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was on a week long business trip and this hotel proved to be most comfortable and great value.
A short walk form the center of town it is a great location minutes from the business district and great restaurants and sites. Oh and a great breakfast and free wireless and long distant calls were included.
I will be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 24 in St. John's
410 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
342 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada St. John's
#10 of 24 in St. John's
548 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Rendell - Shea Manor
#1 of 25 in St. John's
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometel on Signal Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometel on Signal Hill

Address: 10 St. Joseph's Lane, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 5V1, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $78 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hometel on Signal Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled safely downtown on historic Signal Hill - Newfoundland's # 1 Tourist attraction. Steps to Cathedrals, Theatres, Museums, Fine Restaurants, Shopping and St.John's Harbour. Flexible check-ins, luxurious bathrooms with extensive lighting, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, soaker tubs, hi-speed internet, computers and faxes, luxurious linens, scrumptious breakfast, free long distance. free local calls, free parking, air conditioning, ultimate cable 62 channels, in-room mini fridge, free daily local and national newspapers. Unbeatable off season rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hometel on Signal Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hometel On Signal Hill Hotel St. John`s
Hometel On Signal Hill Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing