We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hometel on Signal Hill
Ranked #6 of 23 St. John's B&B and Inns
Nelson
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

While the property was not lavish, it certainly provided good value. The rooms (2) were clean, service was great and the continental breakfast was good. Try and get to breakfast early as they did run out of a few things towards the end (9:30). Location was great as it provided a peek at the harbour and a fairly short (~15 minute) walk to lots of pubs and great eateries.

Room Tip: Upper (3rd) floor rooms are larger and a little better view but a little more$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    91
    23
    16
    5
See reviews for
20
89
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
rishon le zion
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

we stayed in the hotel for two nights in june. the hotel is not bad, our room was fine, breakfast was o.k (a bit crowded in a small dining room) and there were no parking problems. the first room given to us was in the 3rd floor with neither elevator nor airconditioning but when we asked to change we got a much better one in the first floor, spacious, airconditioned and with an attached living room with a small kitchen, refrigerator etc. in short very comfortable. we did not like the wall to wall carpets which were stained and did not look clean. the service was superb, especially by Greg Blackwood and Jillian Delaney who did their utmost to assist us in our stay, directing us to the right places and helping us with online check in problems with airCanada. they did it with courtesy and lot of patience which was very helpful and pleasant. the location is good, easy access to the airport and after 2 weeks in nova scotia and new foundland it was good finale to a wonderful journey.

Room Tip: no elevators. check the existance of airconditioning when the weather is hot. some rooms do not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yehuda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was a clean room and the bed was comfortable. There was free long distance to Canada and the US which was really nice. It is an easy drive to the airport as we had a very early flight. It would have been helpful if there had been at least one chair in the room, it's not a lot of fun to sit on the bed to watch TV. The breakfast area was not set up conveniently, wasn't appealing and there was no coffee ready. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The location was very close to downtown without too much of the noise. The accomodations were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommending places to see or restaurants to go to, which all turned out to be great. We would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ea640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was on a week long business trip and this hotel proved to be most comfortable and great value.
A short walk form the center of town it is a great location minutes from the business district and great restaurants and sites. Oh and a great breakfast and free wireless and long distant calls were included.
I will be returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It was clean and affordable, but not as comfortable as other hotels we stayed at in Newfoundland. Three flight walk up to the room, no DVD player, nowhere to put shampoo, soaps, etc. in the shower, faucet didn't spray evenly, nowhere to hang towels, breakfast was really busy (imagine 10 people in a condo kitchen all trying to get coffee and cereal at once). Wouldn't stay here again unless I couldn't get a room elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalcevka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We greatly enjoyed the 3 nights we spent at Hometel. It is a series of new row houses that were converted into a hotel. It is out of the hubbub of downtown, but from here an easy 15 minute walk will take you through the whole restaurant district. We really enjoyed the walk starting here and going up Signal Hill. We left the road just before the visitors center to go up Gibbet Hill, and followed paths from there to the visitors center, Queens battery, up to Cabot tower and Ladies lookout. Then we took the path down to the narrows along the cliffs to Battery Rd. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fixit14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometel on Signal Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometel on Signal Hill

Property: Hometel on Signal Hill
Address: 10 St. Joseph's Lane, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 5V1, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hometel on Signal Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled safely downtown on historic Signal Hill - Newfoundland's # 1 Tourist attraction. Steps to Cathedrals, Theatres, Museums, Fine Restaurants, Shopping and St.John's Harbour. Flexible check-ins, luxurious bathrooms with extensive lighting, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, soaker tubs, hi-speed internet, computers and faxes, luxurious linens, scrumptious breakfast, free long distance. free local calls, free parking, air conditioning, ultimate cable 62 channels, in-room mini fridge, free daily local and national newspapers. Unbeatable off season rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hometel on Signal Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hometel On Signal Hill Hotel St. John`s
Hometel On Signal Hill Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing