We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Groups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hometel on Signal Hill
Ranked #6 of 23 St. John's B&B and Inns
Stavanger
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good for Groups”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were a group of 6 couples on a golfing holiday. The Hometel is a row of town houses, each with three bedrooms, three bathrooms plus a lounge (which can be used as a 4th bedroom) and kitchen. The houses have 3 floors, with two of the bedrooms on the top floor and one on the street level. The two upper rooms were of a nice size with a good size bathroom. I was told that the street level room was smaller. The hotel is very central and only a short distance from many of St. John`s tourist attractions.

Because we took over two of these town houses, we met few of the other guests. We did meet some of them at breakfast and it struck me that it could be a bit awkward sharing a house with complete strangers.

The breakfast was perfectly adequate and we liked being able to choose either to eat in the general breakfast room or eating in our own house kitchen.

Helpful and very pleasant staff created a nice atmosphere in the hotel.

Room Tip: One of the rooms on the third floor is recommended but the stirs are quite steep for older people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonycStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    91
    23
    16
    5
See reviews for
20
89
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Spent five nights every month for a year at Hometel and enjoyed a lot to have found this place.
Comfortable bed,free internet , clean bathroom with a nice soap and good breakfast included.
Parking the car can be tricky.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrere1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Located right in the middle of downtown St John's. I did not have a car so it is a perfect option for the ones who don't want to drive or want to walk more. I stayed here after reading the views and they were spot on. The breakfast is good - eggs, muffins/bread, cereal/oatmeal, coffee and tea. You have access to kitchen between 7:30-9:30am each day. Most people come down in the last hour. My room was clean and spacious, perfect for a solo's or groups. The staff is very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the back room on 3rd floor, however there are no elevator's so pack light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a large group of people and were in St. JOhn's for over a week. the price was great and we saved even more money by buying groceries and making our own meals. it was nice to have a place that everyone could come back and sit around talk or watch tv after a long day. i would recommend it to anyone traveling in the area. the free breakfast was great too.

Room Tip: there is one room on the main floor and the other two rooms are on the third floor. make sure the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at No. 5 St Joseph's Lane. It is a two bedroom condo which is great for entertaining. Feels like a home away from home. The Hometel staff are very accomodating and looked after any needs we had.You can even go across the street for breakfast. The location is perfect, very close to downtown restaurants and shops. Also very close to trails and Signal Hill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl00smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

As a group of five women this was perfect as we booked three rooms and got a whole townhouse to ourselves. Each room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The location was perfect as we could walk everywhere we needed to go. Breakfast was simple, muffins, fruit, boiled eggs, yogurt and fresh juice, toast and cereal. There was lots of food and Fresh coffee. If it was nice you could sit outside. All rooms had tv, wifi and free phone calls anywhere in north america. There was also a kitchen where you could make meals and keep drinks etc, although each room had a
Mini bar- which was not outrageously expensive.
I loved the concept, as we often travel in a group and wish there were more hometels in other cities.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharlo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This establishment gives you the perfect balance between an expensive hotel and a small room at a B&B. The only thing I did not like was the climb up to the 3rd floor but other than that, it was perfect. Large rooms, full bathrooms (shower and tub), free parking in front of the unit, downtown, and lots of healthy breakfast options. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor if you don't want to climb to the 3rd floor for your room. Stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alig8er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometel on Signal Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometel on Signal Hill

Property: Hometel on Signal Hill
Address: 10 St. Joseph's Lane, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 5V1, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hometel on Signal Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled safely downtown on historic Signal Hill - Newfoundland's # 1 Tourist attraction. Steps to Cathedrals, Theatres, Museums, Fine Restaurants, Shopping and St.John's Harbour. Flexible check-ins, luxurious bathrooms with extensive lighting, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, soaker tubs, hi-speed internet, computers and faxes, luxurious linens, scrumptious breakfast, free long distance. free local calls, free parking, air conditioning, ultimate cable 62 channels, in-room mini fridge, free daily local and national newspapers. Unbeatable off season rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hometel on Signal Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hometel On Signal Hill Hotel St. John`s
Hometel On Signal Hill Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing