We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Roses Heritage Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“OK, but not great.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This B&B is in a great location and close to all things downtown. That's about the only plus. We were able to check in early, so that was helpful as we had no car and didn't want to carry our bags around the city. The inn and the room are fairly dated. I'm pretty sure you can still have updated rooms and maintain the old charm, but that has not been done here. We stayed in the Sweet Bay room and it was fairly clean, the large bed was comfortable, the twin bed was not. This particular room is right beside the stairs so you can hear people talking clearly as they walk by, and I have to assume they can hear everything in the room as well. There was a slight musty smell in the room, but it wasn't so bad that it made us uncomfortable, but someone who is more sensitive to that kind of thing might want to look elsewhere. I would consider staying here again, but only if the price for a night's stay was $75.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripsalot_5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    57
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
35
65
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My spouse, our 11 year old son and I stayed in the "Sweet Bay" room for two nights at the end of July, 2013. It was adequate. The room was nicely decorated except for some exposed plumbing and it was clean. The bathroom appeared to have been renovated recently. The room was not air conditioned. The beds were comfortable. The cable for the television was not connected but we were able to get it to work eventually.
There was no one to welcome us on our arrival. The key for our room was in an envelope on a table by the front door. A sign in the front hall invited us to remove our shoes but we did not do so. There was no sense of being in someone's home. The halls and staircases looked a bit run down.
The small breakfast room is on the third floor of the house next door. It was full at 9:00 a.m. on the first morning of our stay and we couldn't wait for a table to become free. 9:00 a.m. St. John's time corresponds to 7:30 a.m. Toronto time which may explain why it was busy.
Karen who works there provided cups of coffee to my spouse and me which was very kind. Karen was the best thing about the Roses. She was very friendly and positive. The next morning she tried hard to find something that our son who was being rather fussy would eat for breakfast. I really appreciated her efforts. My spouse and I had cheese omelettes which were adequate. There are restaurants a short distance from the Roses which offer better food.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the location is excellent. We loved St. John's and expect to visit the city again. I doubt though that we'll stay at the Roses the next time. The building is an old three storey duplex that was unhappily transformed into a collection of bedrooms with ensuites. It has neither the warmth of a true B&B nor the impersonal efficiency of a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABBHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We are surprised at how much we have to pay for a tired worn B&B in this town. The room we had was spacious as was the e suite bath. The bed was very good and with Earplugs I got a good sleep. It's a great location for walking everywhere. We paid $5 to park in the lot across from the inn as there didn't seem to be available spots on the street when we arrived. This is the first time we've stayed in a B&B with absentee hosts and I did find it rather lacking somehow.
I would describe our room as quite clean but not quite to the usual standard I've found in B&B's where the owners are about and have pride of place. The building has had some obvious renovation but mainly a lipstick job . The building needs investment for the longer term. Paint on the front steps is nearly gone , our sink doesn't drain properly, ceiling has large cracks, carpet was rippled, and so on. breakfast was disappointing . Frozen hash brown patties, terrible coffee, kind of a slap dash affair compared to the exquisite presentations we have repeatedly experienced throughout Atlantic Canada and with a 25 percent price premium!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heartofagypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, NB
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location, easy walking to Water Street, The Rooms, Quidi Vidi. Friendly staff, a good fixed breakfast. Not much in the way of amenities but after all it is a B&B. The rooms were clean along with easy parking and having Coffee Matters just next door what else could you want

Room Tip: If you are travelling with another couple ask for the ground floor (2 bedrooms/shared bath) in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2001Miata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

In two adjacent older homes, this B&B has many rooms, each with a different layout.
Breakfast is served on the top floor of number 9. Cooked breakfast except for Sundays - continental breakfast of cereal, fruit and toast available everyday.
TIP.
Avoid the ground floor rooms of number 9 as these two rooms share a bathroom. Every other room has a private en suite.
TIP NUMBER TWO.
The basement room in number 11 (Comfort Cove room) has a kitchen and two rooms- great for longer stays or families.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Spent 3 nights in July... Street parking is available (no charge)
Beautiful rooms, family room - Comfort Cove. Spacious and comfortable
2 double beds, living are includes small kitchenette, private bathroom.
Nice patio on the top floor, available to all guests.
Exceptional Breakfast
Excellent Location. Easy to walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Great location to explore the city. Walking distance to most attractions including Signal Hill and G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutledge, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Super location in St. John's - easy walking distance to Duckworth and Water Streets, Signal Hill, and Quiddi Vidi. We were with a large group so I was able to look into a lot of the rooms. Paradise (sorry, don't remember the number) looked like one of the best; there was a fan over the bed, which was great in the hot weather we had, and it was on the second floor. Room #2 had a queen bed and the most uncomfortable twin bed I've ever had the disappointment to perch upon, plus a strange bathroom setup - three stairs down and through an exterior door that was propped open (by the staff) with the little dresser that was in the bathroom (instead of, say, a door stop...). Avoid the downstairs (i.e.: basement) rooms - they are VERY dark, although more affordable. The breakfasts are good but inconsistent - we were with a hiking group and would have appreciated protein with each breakfast. The blueberry pancakes were good, but it would have been nice to have an egg alongside. Would have appreciated some of the local jams (partridgeberry and bake apple) instead of grocery store brands. I loved Karen and the other staff - they were incredibly kind and helpful, and kept the place super clean. It's the owners I kind of wonder about - they need to take a look at all of the small things that are missing or broken (would like to have towel hooks on the backs of doors, there are broken clocks, the bathroom door in room #7 is taped so it won't latch, the front step on the #9 building seemed to be missing part of the step, etc...)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
568 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
728 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roses Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roses Heritage Inn

Property: The Roses Heritage Inn
Address: 9 Military Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2C3, Canada (Formerly The Roses Bed & Breakfast)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roses Heritage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the heart of this fine old city, THE ROSES is a restored heritage home in downtown St. John's, offering a quiet, private, and relaxing stay. It is located near the base of historic Signal Hill, in easy walking distance of restaurants, craft shops, and the main business section of the city. Within minutes' walk are several trails, including a spectacular one overlooking the Atlantic Ocean with a panoramic view of the city. Neighborhood attractions include Commissariat House, the Lieutenant Governor's Residence, the Rooms, Museums and many historic landmarks. A 15-minute walk will take you to the top of the famed Signal Hill.Our rooms are larger than most hotels, have private bathrooms (two rooms share one bathroom), free internet and cable TV. We have a lounge and dining room with breathtaking harbour and city views. The long term staff care about your needs and work hard to ensure you experience Newfoundland charm and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Roses Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roses Heritage Inn Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing