We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Roses Heritage Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here, easy walk to downtown. Parking can be tricky as very little street parking, we had rented a small car and were lucky enough to find a spot close to Inn. A large vehicle would be a challenge. Staff were very friendly and helpful, breackfast was excellent. The only downfall would be for those who have difficulty with stairs as the breackfast room and lounges are on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator. Some renovations were being done while we were there but the workers were very good a working during the hours when most would be out exploring. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motherjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 166 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Situated near the east end of St John's harbour and within walking distance of Signal Hill this Victorian style bed and breakfast would seem an ideal spot to stay. The rooms were spacious and clean. They did however show some signs of shoddy repair. A little top quality workmanship could do wonders. The rooms and building are filled with antiques and the beds were very comfortable. If you are a fairly good walker, the entire St John's downtown area is very reachable. The ladies looking after the bookings etc. were very accommodating. My wife and I stayed here five nights and in four different rooms.

The breakfasts were varried each day and the food was plentiful.

We certainly would stay here again if the opportunity were to arise.

Room Tip: The main floor is desireable to avoid taking luggage upstairs or downstairs through narrow hallways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My cousin and I stayed four nights in mid October. The breakfasts were delicious and varied. The ladies working in the B&B were very friendly and accommodating and we received a warm welcome. The house had such a lot of old world charm and character and reflected the ambiance of Newfoundland. This was our first visit to Newfoundland and it lived up to our expectations. We would recommend it. Its location is ideal for access to St. John's.

Room Tip: Room 8 - Heart's Delight is a beautiful room with a lot of thought having been put into the Vict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank October112012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Arrived here the day Leslie struck. Flight delayed by 4 hours. When we arrived at the Roses, doors were locked and it was getting dark. After pressing doorbell no answer. We noticed a note saying to phone this number. Luckily my phone worked in Newfoundland, being a UK Resident, and phone up the owner. She passed us the door code and that there would be an envelope inside for us, which there was. Got into our room and thought, this is not what the pictures look like!! I think a little bit of TLC is required, paint coming of ceiling etc. The room however was spotlessly clean. Bed was comfortable, bathroom etc was clean.
Breakfast was served on the top floor in the building next door.
Breakfast was very good with plenty to eat if required. Different menu daily for the week.
The girls that run it were very friendly as were most of the guests, who you shared tables with over breakfast. It felt really nice and friendly establishment.
We had a good 2 nights here, where we were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovership
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed for three nights. Place has tons of potential with some great rooms but is just off. Toilet sloped forward so we kept joking about sliding off, stairs were sloped and very narrow, made a three storey climb with luggage a bit of a trip. Breakfast was fine but nothing special as far as menu was concerned, would do better at most complimentary breakfasts at a chain hotel. Breakfast area was very crowded. The location is great, coffee shop next door great for snacks and lunches and downtown is withing walking distance albeit everyting is up or down.

The building shows its age and the quality of repairs and paint, for instance, is not very high. This place could be spectacular but it is going to need money spent on it to get it to that stage. It needs a resident owner and some care and attention.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2gogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed one night after road trip through NFLD. Hard to get in when we arrived...email sent after departure with code. Stuck on landing with luggage for a while. Room was nice, 2 beds, but we didn't know our room's bathroom was shared prior to arrival. Great breakfast on top floor. Lots of potential, just need better communication when booking online.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEL5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was a great find on our second trip to St. John's, set back (but not very far) from the busy Water Street/Duckworth Street scenes, close by Bannerman Park, and with plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance. Our room was generous and furnished with antiques, breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, and innkeeper Karen just couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. Parking is free on Military Road starting just a couple hundred feet from the front door. Best of all, it wasn't a budget-buster. We'll be back, if you don't beat us to it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 24 in St. John's
410 reviews
The Guv'nor Inn
#18 of 24 in St. John's
70 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
At Wit's Inn
At Wit's Inn
#3 of 25 in St. John's
114 reviews
Rendell - Shea Manor
#1 of 25 in St. John's
250 reviews
Hometel on Signal Hill
#5 of 25 in St. John's
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roses Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roses Heritage Inn

Address: 9 Military Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2C3, Canada (Formerly The Roses Bed & Breakfast)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $91 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roses Heritage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the heart of this fine old city, THE ROSES is a restored heritage home in downtown St. John's, offering a quiet, private, and relaxing stay. It is located near the base of historic Signal Hill, in easy walking distance of restaurants, craft shops, and the main business section of the city. Within minutes' walk are several trails, including a spectacular one overlooking the Atlantic Ocean with a panoramic view of the city. Neighborhood attractions include Commissariat House, the Lieutenant Governor's Residence, the Rooms, Museums and many historic landmarks. A 15-minute walk will take you to the top of the famed Signal Hill.Our rooms are larger than most hotels, have private bathrooms (two rooms share one bathroom), free internet and cable TV. We have a lounge and dining room with breathtaking harbour and city views. The long term staff care about your needs and work hard to ensure you experience Newfoundland charm and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Roses Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roses Heritage Inn Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing