We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homeport Apartment Hotel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Although we booked our two bedroom suite well in advanced, we were given a basement location. We asked to be moved, but were told there wasn't anything else available. The place was damp and smelled. Everything was old and showed no signs of renovations. There was dehumidifier running in the living room, but we had to empty it during the night. On top of that, the beds were like rocks. Given our son's asthma, we could not stay there beyond one night. We moved to the Holiday Inn and it was cheaper than Hillview Terrace. When we checked out, we told the desk manager why we were leaving, but he didn't seem to care. If you plan on staying here, make sure you don't end up in the basement. I've stayed here many times before and I can honestly say, the place is going downhill. This was certainly my last stay at Hillview Terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mightypen175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 204 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed here last year for a few weeks. All I have to say is I loved it. It's so close to Sobeys which is handy and the bus right outside will take you downtown in about 15 minutes. Some people might complain about the location, it's opposite a pretty crappy strip mall...but regardless I really enjoyed my time here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I stayed at the Hillview for three nights in March, and was thoroughly impressed with the service, cleanliness, and amenities. The suite was large, had a kitchen and felt like a perfect home away from home. There is a courtesy shuttle to take you around, and the rates are very reasonable. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ArcticTraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

The reviews on this property are as varied as the individual apartments. My husband and I and 14 extended family members traveled to St. John's for our son's wedding. As I knew our suite would be the meeting area for everybody, I booked the superior three bedroom unit in building 3B. We visited this suite back in December when it was undergoing a complete renovation and knew it would be the right choice. We were thrilled when we checked in eight months later and saw the final result. All furnishings are brand new, the living room has two leather sofas, electric fireplace and large flat screen tv; the dining room easily seats 10; the large kitchen has seating for 6; each of the three bedrooms has a queen size bed and flat screen tv; plus two bathrooms and a sauna. This was the nicest and most expensive of the suites rented by our family . My family had suites of varying sizes, some renovated some not, but all suites were well outfitted and very clean.Although there is not complimentary daily housekeeping, each morning the friendly chambermaid would ask if we needed fresh towels, tissue, tea and coffee or a newspaper.
Perhaps the best advertisement for this property is the staff on all levels. Shannon, at the front desk, helped us sort out housing all family members from age 1 to 89 and never seemed flustered, Geraldine from housekeeping greeted us each morning with a smile and a newspaper and Helena, General Manager , made sure everything ran smoothly for us.This property is ideal for families traveling together or couples who wish to self-cater. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed here in a 3 bedroom suite for a week. The reception and daily attention to our needs and total comfort was exceptional. Best of all, the price was half of what we would expect to pay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank culhaneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

What I like about Hillview Terrace is the fact that it is an apartment. You have your 1,2, or 3 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen, and living room area. If you are travelling with other people, you can share the cost of a room, but still have your privacy by having your own bedroom. However the first time that I stayed there, the room was extremely damp (carpets, couch, beds). The second time, the room had a foul odor. Overall, I would give it a 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busymama24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Stayed in block 3 - bottom floor. The doors BANGED LOUDLY every time someone went in or out of either the room or the building. People talked on the 3rd floor hallway and we heard every word in the basement. Washer was on the same line as our kitchen and we got soap from the washer. No sound proofing between the laundry room and ours and people were still doing the wash after 11pm.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and when we got party people overhead they quickly quieted them down. This place would have got a higher rating but the noise was just too much.
The price is right so perhaps you need to stay on the top floor if you can walk up 2 1/2 flights of stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Islander13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Ramada St. John's
#10 of 24 in St. John's
551 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 24 in St. John's
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
351 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
623 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeport Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeport Apartment Hotel

Address: 3 Wadland Cres | Building 4A, Suite 202, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 2J5, Canada (Formerly Hillview Terrace Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $80 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Homeport Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your travel takes you to St. John’s for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, HomePort is your home away from home. Offering nightly and extended stay rates for fully furnished apartments we have a variety of rooms for you to choose from to match your budget. HomePort includes three completely renovated featuring modern decor and fully-equipped kitchens. The remaining non-renovated buildings, our HomePort Economy Suites, offer clean and comfortable accommodations at an exceptional price. Onsite amenities include a fitness center, market place, airport shuttle, free parking, free Wi-Fi and 24 hours guest services. HomePort offers one, two or three bedroom fully furnished suites. Take advantage of more space and a full kitchen. Like a hotel, but better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Homeport Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview Terrace Hotel St. John`s
Homeport Apartment Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing