We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing view”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of St. John's from deck Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
View of St. John's from deck
Cottage
Eat-In Kitchen
Patio doors and window
Downstairs Half Bath and Laundry
Fort Amherst
View of Cottage from Signal Hill
View of the Battery
View of Signal Hill from Deck
View from Deck
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St. John's, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Greengard...
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

Amazing view of harbour and signal hill from kitchen and living room and deck. Tastefully decorated, comfortable furniture and beds, nice linens. Kitchen very well equipped with lots of dishes, pots and pans, spices, etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“a beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable home”
Reviewed June 28, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

the house is compact, but roomy enough for two couples .. the home is beautifully decorated with a book shelf full of the absolute best Newfoundland stories and a music player pre-loaded with a truly wonderful playlist .. the living room's glass wall and the deck looks out on the best view of St John's harbor, bar none .. the kitchen is tiny, but outfitted perfectly .. we were early in the season, so there were very few neighbors, high season with all the rentals full might make parking a bit of a challenge .. the only problem was a downstairs toilet with a mind of its own, sometimes it was just fine, other times it was very less than fine, but overall the goods so out-weigh the bads making this house an A+ .. Ron & Nancy from Ohio

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindyp61
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“View, Amenities, Owner, Location - All Perfect for Your Stay in St. John's”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Cottage by the Sea near St. John's was absolutely perfect for our stay. My husband, 77 year old mother and I visited the last week of July/first week of August 2017 and could not have asked for a more beautiful locale or cozier abode during our trip to St. John's. The view of the harbor is gorgeous by day and night. We felt the location of this cottage was perfect in that it is close enough (10-15 min) to drive into town and explore all there is to do in St. John's (gorgeous churches, quaint pubs, amazing seafood restaurants - not to mention Signal Hill) but it is far away enough from the bustle to truly wind down and relax and get good nights' rest. The owner of this property could not have been more accommodating. She responded to emails/texts promptly and offered suggestions. The cottage was very clean, nicely decorated and has anything and everything you could possibly need during your stay. In fact, I was amazed at how cleverly dishware, towels, electronic connections, etc. were stored but readily available! The deck is beyond words - my mother spent every spare minute outside watching and listening to the sea. While we explored the city and surroundings, we came across several hotels we had considered for our stay. I am sure they are wonderful, but I attest none could have provided us the experiences we had at the Cottage by the Sea!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you Cindy, it was my pleasure having you and your family stay at my house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet1949
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit to St. John's and our first stay at this fabulous cottage. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on a future visit. I think the word "perfect" is totally appropriate. First of all, the location is amazing. To sit in the evening and look out onto the harbor and see The Rooms in the distance was the best. Being right on The Narrows (with Signal Hill to our right) we saw quite the parade of boats going in and out. We could almost reach out and touch them! The cottage itself is beautifully laid out. Although there is a bedroom on the main level, we chose to use the king-size bed in the beautifully finished lower level. Having the washer and dryer available was also a bonus.
One of the other attractions of this lovely cottage are the wonderful photographs on the walls. They reflect the nature of Newfoundland and St. John's and really add to the atmosphere.
There is a large deck facing the harbor but it was so windy while we were there that I figured we'd have to tie ourselves to the railing. But the large windows provided the same view so it was all good.
I know this cottage is not ours but it sure felt like our home for the week we were there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycechaw...
St. John's, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a beautiful cottage by the sea! The view is outstanding and Marilyn has decorated her place so well. It feels like home and she has taken care of so many details to make a pleasant stay. It's a perfect distance to the city to see all the popular sites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
It was a pleasure to meet you and your wonderful family. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Marni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
What a lovely review, thank you very much. It is a magical place and the photos really do not capture what you've so eloquently put into words. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Marni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dave J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable!”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The photos of the cottage and view from the deck do not due this fantastic place justice. The cottage is outstanding in every way imaginable and the view has to be the best in the city. Everything you could ask for, and then some, is close by and a brief walk to the end of the street puts you at Fort Ambrose with utterly stunning views. If you are into photography stay here! If you are going to St John's don't even consider staying anywhere else because there is nowhere better.

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your wonderful cottage, we'll never forget it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It is difficult to do the place justice with photos, it's the sights, sounds and smell of the ocean that's hard to capture. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards
Marni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing