We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Saltwater Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 378 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casual and comfortable dining, fresh seafood and happy hour tapas in the heart of downtown St.John's, Newfoundland.
Niteroi, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I'm from Brazil and this is mt third time here in St. John's, but this is my first time at SaltWater. the food is really good and the service is great. I really recommend this restaurant in your visit in Newfoundland.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    73
    19
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

After eating here a few times, definitely one of my favourite new spots in St. John's! Service was a little slow when here with a group, but the food was worth the wait and the waitress was apologetic so it's all good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GMDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I was disappointed”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Despite all of the positive reviews for this restaurant on Tripadvisor, I was disappointed. We were a group of 14 person. They served everyone excepting me! Indeed they forgot my order and I was watching the other eating for 7 minutes and before having my meal... I ordered a sea food risotto which was very acidic. I asked to two other Italian peoples of our group about their risotto and they very agree with me. in conclusion, my ranking is average and considering the expensive price and their service, I was not satisfied ...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M.A. J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of St. John's FINEST!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just wanted to pass along my comments on a fantastic meal we had here on a recent Saturday Night in early March. Big thanks for the great service from our waiter Warren. It was our first visit and I have nothing but great things to say about the place. For those reviewers who have complained about slow service it is a fine dining experience not meant to be rushed......if your in a hurry just tell your server but why rush good food and good wine. Love all the little extras....Amuse Bouche Sorbet and the bread they serve is Amazing. We had the Pork Chicken and Seafood Risotto entrees....all were fantastic. If you are a seafood lover you will be in heaven with the huge selection their menu has to offer. Easily one of St. John's Finest!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJFabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Remains a treat!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My fiance and I returned to Saltwater and had another wonderful meal. As usual we ordered a series of small plates and some wine. The scallops were as pleasing as the first taste, and perfectly cooked. We opted for that evenings mussel dish and were wowed by the flavors. They were perfectly cooked in a broth seasoned with lobster, bacon, sweet corn, tomatoes and jalapeno for some spice. I cannot say how flavorful this dish was and we devoured it!

If you get the opportunity to visit this lovely restaurant please do! The food and service are stellar and it is a very comfortable atmosphere.

Bon Appetite!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jode3115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater Restaurant also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Saltwater Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing