We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, good experience”

Saltwater Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 382 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casual and comfortable dining, fresh seafood and happy hour tapas in the heart of downtown St.John's, Newfoundland.
Mount Pearl, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good experience”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Saltwater opened in downtown St. John's about 8 months ago in the location formerly Magnum and Steins. They have made some well needed renovations, now a warm and inviting restaurant. The waiter was attentive and helpful. The food was timed perfectly so as not to rush our dinner conversation (there were 8 in our party) but served hot. There is an art to cooking cod tongues (appetizer) and the kitchen nailed it. We had the three cfa's (come from away) at the table converted once they tasted them even though cod tongues doesn't sound very appetizing. The scallops (app) were juicy and fresh, the apple and Brie tasty. The lamb rack was exceptional and judging from the cleaned plates from the rest of the group at the end of the meal, the filet and the Halibut deserved high praise. A really enjoyable evening with good food and service. Would recommend for a nice night out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberge444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    74
    19
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit here every time I am in town!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Greeted at the door and showed to my table at a calm pace, it wasn't a race as most places make it.

Service was great, paired wine pretty well with the delicious and largely portion food.

Srdjan and his crew are doing a fantastic job, especially for a first year in business!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were going to settle for another pub but found this and were delighted. Great tasty food. Fish chowder was so yummy!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EmptyNesters46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely be back!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Saltwater is a new restaurant in downtown St. John's (Duckworth Street) that was unknown to us but we decided to try it after reading the online reviews. We were looking for a place to have a quiet romantic dinner, and it really delivered! Not only did it have the atmosphere we were looking for, but also had great service and fantastic food! It's definitely worth the price. We'll definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Forilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, service doesn't match.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I took some colleagues and clients for lunch after a meeting, the location was perfect as our offices are just across the street. I had never dined here and was pleased to walk into the relaxed and calming atmosphere. The wood work feature wall was a nice touch.

We all ordered fish, half and half for the salmon and pan fried cod. The complimentary bread was really lovely, still warm and fresh from the oven, and the waiter was really unobtrusive which was nice as the conversation was still geared towards work.

Then the waiting happened. It was a ridiculously long lunch due to the fact that it took over an hour from our orders to receive our meals. During the waiting period I also noticed it became quite cool in the restaurant and I was glad I wore a sweater because it would not have been comfortable.

The meal was exemplary, the fish was cooked perfectly and the vegetable accomplishments were also well cooked and paired. Also the music coming from the bar (we sat downstairs) was a great touch and good range of styles.

All in all it was a great meal but I was disappointed at the lead time, especially since the place was essentially empty except for a table of two. Normally I would not have an hour and a half for lunch, so I would suggest dinner would be more appropriate. It's worth a try, the pan fried cod comes highly recommended!! By me of course :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater Restaurant also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Saltwater Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing