We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rendell - Shea Manor
Ranked #1 of 23 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bathurst, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

my mom received a happy 82nd birthday eggs benedict breakfast with fruit and toast and juice and tea which was delightful. The historic building was where the first St. John's mayor and wife lived. This building was saved from the fire that destroyed others close by. Erle was welcoming. One thing I would recommend would be is a map of the streets in St. John's or a GPS. Or have money for a taxi to guide us to Cochrane street after dark because we needed to get back to this b&b.Rendall&Shea Manor. Ask Erle and he was accommadating. We stayed 2 nights. mom and I liked this b&b and would highly recommend this place to stay. We visited citidel hill which was close to this b&b. The Rumpellstilskin restaurant is close to this b&b and mom enjoyed her first drive in a Jaguar on her birthday. St. John's was a beautiful experience for us. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schreecher13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl N, Owner at Rendell - Shea Manor, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and your Mom's breakfast birthday celebration was a real treat for us too.

Just a note that you had driven up to Signal Hill and not Citadel Hill. Those who are familiar with Citadel Hill in Halifax may need clarification of your location.

Please give our best regards to your Mom and we sincerely hope that you both have a chance to return someday.

Warm regards,

Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    26
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
154
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This historic home, in the downtown core of the city, was absolutely perfect. The home has been updated, where required, but is a perfect architectural example of the era. We were so lucky to find them! The hosts and their staff were so helpful, thoughtful and courteous. We felt so relaxed. From this location we were able to walk to all the historic sights and to great restaurants.

Room Tip: For specific needs, ask ahead of time...fans instead of air conditioning, windows that open, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I arrived in St. John's without reservations only to find most of the B&Bs booked. Rendell-Shea Manor was available for 2 of the 4 nights we needed. Earl very kindly checked around and found us accommodation at a nearby B&B for the other two nights. The Rendell-Shea B&B is in a quiet location but within walking distance to downtown. Our room was spacious and comfortable, breakfast was lovely and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ended up having a most enjoyable stay in St. John's. We would recommend this B&B to anyone.

Max S and Cathy F

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our first stop on our Newfoundland trip. Earl was so welcoming and personable. It is a lovely B&B and ample room even when the house is full. There is a nice sunlit room where guests can help themselves to coffee/tea and enjoy some banana bread. Earl was able to offer lots of good suggestions for eateries and had a local map which helped immensely to navigate (and also gave great directions!). Rendell Shea is in a good location, close to the main shopping/restaurant area so we could park the car and enjoy walking to many of the recommended sights. Breakfast was very good with a nice variety. If we get a chance to go back to Newfoundland, I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here on the first night after our arrival from Denver, CO to St John's. We arrived before check-in time and were welcomed warmly by Earl and Staff. The Rendell - Shea served as a great starting point to see the sights of down town St. John's by walking. We have fond memories of our stay and would heartily recommend the Rendell - Shea Manor to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning and ending of our trip to St. John's and highly recommend this B and B-a beautiful and historic accomodation in such an historic city.It was within walking distance to so many of the sites (The Rooms,the Cathedral, the Harbour and downtown area).Earl ( and Helen )were friendly and very helpful. Accomodations were very comfortable and well-kept and the breakfasts gourmet, for sure.We hope to return! 2 senior Winnipegers

Room Tip: Rooms are not air- conditioned (of course, in an historic property) but good fans were provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Rendell -Shea Manor was the first B and B at which we stayed for two nights during our trip to NFLD and it made for a wonderful experience in St. John's. We appreciated and were impressed with Earl's warm welcome, friendly personality, practical advice, lists of recommended things to see and do, as well as restaurants to visit while in St. John and the surrounding area. The location of Rendell-Shea Manor is perfect - a ten minute walk from the heart of downtown with its many pubs, shops and restaurants. Kudos to Earl and Helen for their delicious, ample and hearty breakfasts. Happy Hour - complete with tea, coffee, lemonade, liqueurs and cookies - in the sunroom was a very nice touch. Our bedroom on the third was very clean, comfortable and cozy. We would definitely recommend Rendell-Shea Manor to other visitors and hope to stay there again during a future trip to St. John's.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane4162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendell - Shea Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendell - Shea Manor

Property: Rendell - Shea Manor
Address: 82 Cochrane St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3L6, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendell - Shea Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rendell Shea Manor is a Heritage Home located in the Historic East End of St. John's. This is one of the best areas downtown to walk the city. There are local cafés, craft stores, restaurants and local Pubs. We are within minutes walk of Signal Hill, The Rooms, The Battery, George Street and the Harbor front. Afternoon coffee and tea are available in our sunroom or on our covered deck. The Rendell Shea Home has retained most of it's original period character. It was the home of St. John's first Mayor, Mr. George Shea and his wife Margaret Rendell Shea. The home remained in the Shea family for more than 100 years. We are delighted to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rendell - Shea Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendell - Shea Manor Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing