We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rendell - Shea Manor
Ranked #1 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Rendell - Shea Manor and it didn't disappoint!! The hospitality was phenomenal, the room beautifully appointed and the warm breakfast was delicious. Forget the big hotels, this is definitely where we will be staying from now on!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finni56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 250 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our arrival in St. John's happened close to three weeks after being on the road. We had called Earl to let him know we would be arriving a little later than we expected and he informed us he would be out so he gave us the entry code and left our room key in an envelope in the vestibule. It so happened that St. John's was experiencing unseasonably hot weather so our room on the third floor was very warm and thankfully there was a modern fan in the room which we used every night of our 3 nights there. The manor is beautiful and kept very clean; bed was comfortable and breakfasts had great presentation and variety. Though we didn't see Earl that much he was pleasant enough and Helen was accommodating and very pleasant. Loved that we were provided a street parking pass and staff made sure we were advised well in advance of where to park on street cleaning day.

This was the only B&B which required we remove our shoes and use slippers or walk on stockinged or bare feet. I understand the need to keep such a large heritage house neat and clean but I would suggest they provide spa-type slippers for those of us who do not travel with or use slippers.

Tip: Good rooms go quickly so book well in advance for high season. WiFi not available on third floor.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JeannieandJono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl N, Owner at Rendell - Shea Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hello Jeannie and Jon - Thank you so much for your very pleasant review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope that you return.

Our 'No Shoe' policy is not a hit with everyone. We allowed shoes to be worn from the street to indoors for one season and it created a real mess inside. During wet weather, trails of mud and water could be seen from the entrance to the rooms. We do allow indoor shoes or slippers and I post this on your confirmation in bold letters, just so there are no surprises. The spa slippers are a great idea and I will look into keeping a supply on hand. Thanks for that.

We have wireless internet in all areas of our house and the only issue that we have experienced is in certain areas of suite three. You guys stayed in suite one and there should not have been any issue here. If we had known, Helen or I would have sat with you to ensure that it worked. Our 'super-modem' is the most advanced available to reach all areas of the home. Thanks for bringing it up and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. Even though you made light of it in your review, we regret that this service was not available to you during your stay.

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Earl Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Rendell-Shea Manor is a great, welcoming place to stay in the heart of St. John's! Free parking on the street (parking pass provided), wonderfully decorated rooms with very comfortable beds and private bathrooms, walking distance to all the major downtown amenities. And a delicious french toast breakfast too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I spent 1 night here and would definitely stay here again. The location was fantastic, only blocks from downtown St. John's. The hospitality was phenomenal as was the delicious hot breakfast. The top floor room was warm and difficult to cool despite an open window and a fan, but it may have been due to unseasonably warm temperatures.

Hope to be back someday and stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this beautiful, spacious, historic B&B. We taxied from the airport and was able to discover St. John's by foot; Signal Hill/ Geo Centre, Quitty Vitty village, the Rooms, George Street, MUN, shopping on Water Street and many other sites and wonderful restaurants.
The breakfast menu which differed each day contained an assortment of fresh fruit, yogurt and a hot entree. A very generous start to the day.The toutons served on two of the mornings was definitely a cultural experience.The large breakfast table provided a wonderful opportunity to meet fellow travellers and share experiences of the city and province.
Earl made some great suggestions on which sites and restaurants to visit . We valued his opinion and are so glad that we followed through on his recommendations making our visit to the city all the more enjoyable!
Thanks Earl, Helen, Gary and Stephanie.

Room Tip: Nestled in a quiet area of the city in walking distance of tourist sites, bars, restaurants and shop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Rendell-Shea Manor is a GREAT place to stay! Earl and Helen were very helpful since it was our
first time in St. John's.The hot breakfasts were a work of art and delicious.Your in walking distance
to the downtown major streets(Water,Duckworth&St. George).There was no problem parking on
the street(parking pass was provided). Rendell-Shea is a GORGEOUS heritage home that is
kept spotless.We will definitely recommend this place to our family and friends.

Marcia M

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I totally agree with the last review. We stayed an extra night (3 in total) it was so enjoyable. In addition the bed was very comfortable and as a couple of foodies we really enjoyed how the hot breakfasts were presented with a variety of fruit. Earl with his friendly staff treat their guests as friends with true respect & courtesy. Thanks for a great start to our Newfoundland experience, especially the tips on what/where to go. R&V Welland Ontario

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Vicki and Rolly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
344 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
621 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
At Wit's Inn
At Wit's Inn
#4 of 25 in St. John's
114 reviews
Hometel on Signal Hill
#5 of 25 in St. John's
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendell - Shea Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendell - Shea Manor

Address: 82 Cochrane St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3L6, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $136 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendell - Shea Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rendell Shea Manor is a Heritage Home located in the Historic East End of St. John's. This is one of the best areas downtown to walk the city. There are local cafés, craft stores, restaurants and local Pubs. We are within minutes walk of Signal Hill, The Rooms, The Battery, George Street and the Harbor front. Afternoon coffee and tea are available in our sunroom or on our covered deck. The Rendell Shea Home has retained most of it's original period character. It was the home of St. John's first Mayor, Mr. George Shea and his wife Margaret Rendell Shea. The home remained in the Shea family for more than 100 years. We are delighted to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Rendell - Shea Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendell - Shea Manor Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing