We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking and Historic”

Cape Spear Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 92 things to do in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
306 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and Historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Don't miss this attraction as it is well worth the effort.

Breathtaking Vistas and a Historic Lighthouse that is accessible and interesting.

Takes a little effort to get to with some walking and there are a lot of stairs but make sure you do it as the effort is worth the outcome!

As a bonus we even saw wales!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TangoForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,055
    366
    48
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Phenomenal views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We did not visit the lighthouse itself but the area itself had breathtaking views!! It was an experience just to have stood on the most easterly point in North America. A must if visiting St. John's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank maryandwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Nb. Canada
Level Contributor
314 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Foggy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I am sure it would have been an amazing view of Signal Hill & the Atlantic...but too foggy...
Very informative Park person at the Light...Well worthwhile going...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best photo shots”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I loved everything about this place, the drive out there was interesting visually. The best lighthouse to photograph and the view was spectacular. Eastern most point of North America and it has WW2 history

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice lighthouse, but I like Bonavista better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We just visited the Cape Bonavista Lighthouse a couple of days ago, and we decided to also visit the Cape Spear Lighthouse. The building has many similarities with its Bonavista counterpart, but it looks wider to me. It is very nicely kept and I think more areas were accessible on the first and second floors than on the Bonavista's. Unforttunately, we were not allowed to access the top of the lighthouse, which was closed (as we were told) due to "health and safety reasons". We were also told that the lighthouse was converted to electric before being decommissioned, so the old optics and kerosene lights were no longer installed. Nevertheless, it is a nice piece of Canadian History that deserves a visit. The admission fee was almost half as Bonavista's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank El-Pescador007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Spear Lighthouse also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Cape Spear Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing