We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Spear Lighthouse

Cape Spear Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 91 things to do in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Liberty Township, OH
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

To stand on the easternmost point of our continent is a once-in-a-lifetime experience. The lighthouse itself was closed for the season, but the views are worth seeing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,047
    366
    48
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited this on my second day in St. John's. Taking that awesome picture that you can send to your friends stating "I'm standing on the Eastern most point in the entire country.." or continent for that matter is very very cool. Again, SO much history on this site. The new and old lighthouse, the bunkers, it's fascinating. Take mental pictures and go back to them whenever you're having a rough day. It's beautiful beyond words.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thetravellinman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“History with a capital "H"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Such an important part of Canadian history. Can't go to St. John's and not get up there. Despite the height of the Hill, it's very walkable from downtown.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank notyetworldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a must-see for anyone going to St. Johns. It is the farthest point east on the North American continent. The scenery is truly amazing and there are hiking trails to enjoy the ocean views even more!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 329Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for a pic nic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a beautiful spot to get out and enjoy the day! We went out and were we ever glad we took our camera. The views are spectacular and it was so very relaxing to sit out and enjoy the sunshine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DarcyinDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Spear Lighthouse also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Cape Spear Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing