We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something for all ages!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Johnson GEO CENTRE

Johnson GEO CENTRE
Ranked #4 of 92 things to do in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Cut from the ancient rock of Signal Hill in St. John's, Newfoundland & Labrador, the Johnson GEO CENTRE takes you deep underground to experience the story of planet Earth. Discover our planet's incredible history, get the real story behind the sinking of the Titanic, learn about the volcanoes, earthquakes and natural forces that shape the very ground beneath our feet, and so much more. Explore the interactive exhibits on your own or join our interpreters on a guided tour. The kids will love playing in the Hibernia KidsPlace and experiencing our multimedia film complete with rain and lightning. You can all enjoy lunch at our onsite cafe and take home unique keepsakes from GEO GIFTS. Then, take your learning outside with a walk through our GEO VISTA PARK. At the Johnson GEO CENTRE, we'll show you Earth from the inside, out! The GEO CENTRE is wheelchair accessible and offers free, off-street parking. Bus parking also available.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Antigonish, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Something for all ages!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

The outside may seem small but its very big underground. Lots of exhibits from outer space to the Titanic. Many interactive exhibits filled with lots of fun for young kids to adults. We spent about 2 hrs touring the site and really enjoyed our time there. Great spot for a rainy if ever rains in St John's lol!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarkMac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    136
    49
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Interesting and Fun Place For Families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

As part of our St John's vacation we decided to visit the Geo Centre. Our kids are pre-teen and have different interests so we wanted something that they would all enjoy and maybe even learn something new. The centre has different exhibits ranging from the Titanic story, geology to space and they offer a series of movies ( both 2 and 3D ) on earth history / climate change which were very interesting. They even have live interactive science demonstrations in the main lobby which the kids found fun. The staff were friendly and were more then glad to answer any questions you had. For a reasonably priced family entrance fee this place was definitely worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MacIsaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fun and Educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We originally planned to stop in the Geo Center 'for a few minutes' (waiting for the morning fog to burn off Signal Hill), but ended up spending 3 hours touring the exhibits there.

Interesting exhibits we saw included a geology exhibit in the main hall (very complete), an exhibit on oil extraction in the province, and a thought provoking exhibit on the Titanic sinking that came to some startling conclusions.

There was also on ongoing live science demo on the main hall, and theaters with shows starting every few minutes.

If you're into science centers and science in general, it's an easy place to enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank MeadowvaleON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
441 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Fantastic exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

What a great surprise, had not idea the Geo Centre would be this amazing. The exhibits are expertly done with tons of information. This is a geology wonderland. There are special programs for children, a great place for them to have fun and learn. It takes time to go through it and really see everything. I enjoyed the volcano exhibit, very well done. Every exhibit was interesting and a learning experience. Highly recommend a visit here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alabamatripcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Wow, this place really grabbed my attention, especially the exposed rock inside the centre which marked out the different ages and formations of the rock right in front of you. I found it very educational for both adults and children alike.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ionlyflyfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnson GEO CENTRE also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Johnson GEO CENTRE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing