We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open 24 hours/day”
Review of The Celtic Hearth

The Celtic Hearth
Ranked #26 of 454 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped here for a drink. It has very nice decor inside. Outside, the street is being dug up and underground lines repaired, but don’t let that stop you from dining here. The prices are a little on the higher end for what you get, which is why I wouldn’t give it a 5 out of 5.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Moochie-La-La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne B, Manager at The Celtic Hearth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for braving the construction and paying us a visit! We hope you had an excellent meal while you were here and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to this Water Street restaurant because it was highly ranked for Lobster and Seafood.

Our server was a very nice young man but he did not see fit to compensate us for a poor performance by the kitchen.

My wife ordered the prime rib (medium) with veggies. Unforunately it came as a tough well done piece. The server understood and offered another piece that was less done. What arrived back was some inferior cut of steak that was shoe leather tough and rare. After already sending back the first dish, we were hesitant to send back another as they clearly have no idea what to do with meat.

Do not order any steaks from this restaurant.

I ordered the Mussels as an appetizer and it was plentiful for the money but had no taste at all considering it was supposed to be in white wine and garlic.

The lobster was very expensive for a 1.5 lb lobster but did taste good. Unforunately their idea of melted garlic butter was soft butter in a small container. They could have heated it.

I imagine it is a fine place for a drink or two but better to go after you eat dinner.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not many places in St John’s serve food into the wee hours. Celtic offers a diverse and delicious menu accompanied by professional, attentive service. We tried and loved the moose tacos ... a delicious Newfoundland-Mexican fusion dish to stave off a hangover!!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank PinUpBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne B, Manager at The Celtic Hearth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are glad you had a good night out in St. John's, and we are happy to have been part of it! Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

This quaint little place is located on Water Street in St. John's. It's an eclectic pub that is open every day, 24 hours a day! Quiet by day but apparently comes to life late at night. It screams original everything and I can imagine the stories shared in this joint!

I ordered a clubhouse sandwich and fries. The sandwich was served on fresh homemade bread that was to die for. The fries were perfectly hot and crispy and everything came with a side of slaw that was especially tart and refreshing.

Great find!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Thesnugisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

I was in town for a few nights and stopped in to The Celtic Hearth for supper and was very pleased with my experience. We were quickly seated and had our drinks on the table in a flash! After a few minutes checking over the great menu filled with local options I chose the Moose burger with bacon and rhubarb chutney and it was very tasty!! Hand cut fries and a deep fried dill pickle topped off the meal.
I will be back!!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank MarkMac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne B, Marketing Director at The Celtic Hearth, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

Thank you so much! We are so happy you enjoyed your meal! We are really proud of our moose burger and are so happy that you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Celtic Hearth also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to The Celtic Hearth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing