We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks a lot nicer on the outside than the inside - really disappointed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winterholme Suites & Spa
Ranked #15 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Frommer's gave this Inn a good review but we must say we were quite disappointed. The building itself is beautiful from the outside but badly needs renovation inside. Apart from the incredible English oak staircase in the foyer, the rest of this Inn was substandard. Rooms were poorly decorated and bathrooms hadn't seen a reno in 20+ years. The breakfast was only a half step above what one would expect at a budget travelers hotel, not what one would expect from a B&B charging these prices.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank West_Coast_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterholme, Manager at Winterholme Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2011

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback.

We are constantly doing upgrades and renovations, and have put a bigger focus on this over the last year + to give just about every room a new feel.

We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you.






only a half step above what one would expect at a budget travelers hotel, not what one would expect from a B&B charging these prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Winterholme Suites & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 107 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2009

Those who wrote positive reviews for the Winterholme have either never stayed at bed and breakfasts or are really not concerned with throwing their money away. We stayed there on recommendation of a friend who had visited in 2000 and (much to her dismay as well) were thoroughly disappointed. Fortunately, we were only there for one night. The inn looks charming in photos, but an upclose look tells otherwise. Yes, the decor was tired and kitchy. Plastic, dust-laden flowers,coupled with floral couches with leopard-skinned chairs do not do this beautiful home any justice. The original owners of this gorgeous house are spinning in their graves. The bed linens were threadbare and the bed felt like it had been around for 20 years. The room decor was a mix of every era and the prints on the walls had water stains. The breakfast was bland and the only time I saw any staff was when we checked in and out. I stayed in many bed and breakfasts in Newfoundland, and there was only one other that was not all that great - but we got what we paid for. Not at Winterholme. You are better off staying at "Oh What a View" at St John's Harbour. We regret not booking our last night in St. John's there. (If you are going to Rocky Harbour - and you should - stay at Anchor Down. Vera makes scrumptious breakfast and is the most pleasant person you'll ever meet!)

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeacherToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterholme, Manager at Winterholme Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2011

Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate guest comments.

Over the past few years we have been putting extra effort into change/fixing/upgrading the rooms, etc. The tired artificial plants have been removed and the furnishing have been upgraded, along with patterns, etc have been changed and updated.
I'm sorry and surprised to hear about the bed linens, as we keep those very up to par, on a constantly regular basis.

Thanks again for your comments, I assure you changes have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Sure, there are the plastic plants, peeling wallpaper, and lit christmas tree, but the service was fine. Scrambled eggs were on a warmer along with bacon. There was not a great choice in the dry cereals, but my wife ask for oatmeal, and they cheerfully made it special for both of us.
We were on the second floor in #4, and it was spacious. Everything was clean--we stayed two nights.
They gave us a combination to the back door via email because we arrived around midnight. No problem getting in and getting to bed.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank geosched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We were VERY skeptical about staying at Winterholme and taking advantage of the great spa services they have to offer after reading many disappointing reviews here on TA... But we did anyway. There were 4 of us, 2 rooms, and 2 very different rooms at that. We had a Fireplace Suite on the 2nd floor and our friends had an Attic Suite on the 3rd floor. Although both quite different from one another, they were both unique in their own way. I agree with most, that the artificial flowers could certainly go or be upgraded, however it didn't affect my stay. The old charm of the property is held very well, and although it appears to still have Christmas decor, it's only because of the name "winterholme", that they keep it somewhat in the theme of winter.
The spa was absolutely fabulous, Stacey and Niki are very kind and did a wonderful job.
The unfortunately thing about this site is, most people come to post their negative comments and not their positive comments and experiences ... So I just wanted to tell everyone that our stay was wonderful, we couldn't have asked for me, everything from the check in, breakfast, the owners, etc was just great... It's a highly recommended place to say in St. John's. You'll regret not going there!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJPtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Beautiful building and that is about where it stops. Didn't pick it - ended up here because the Park House Inn overbooked. At least they made another reservation for us. Stay away from any of the rooms on the third floor, 8 to 11. They are the old servants quarters. Although large, they are stuffy, with small windows that don't get any breeze and the A/C is in the bathroom. It's been warm in St. John's and to get to cool down enough to sleep, you get to use a couple of noisy fans. If that wasn't enough, the fridge in the room kept up a noise all night enough to wake me from time to time and I am a heavy sleeper. Worst for me was the night we arrived, the owner didn't bother to tell us that there was an outdoor party next door on our side of the building! We know he knew because he told us at breakfast when we said our night was awful due to the party. No offer of compensation and since it was our last night, we decided not to go elsewhere. We left early in the morning, before the breakfast. We settled up the night before and there was no allowance for not getting breakfast or the noise. Too bad for their future business.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioTraveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We booked a 2 night stay at Winterholme for our wedding. My husband talked to the owner the day before our wedding about early check-in, and they were very accomodating by saying we could get the keys early. The main "public" areas of WInterholme are amazing, very well kept and are very luxourious (if you ignore the xmas tree on the staircase!)

Because we had less than ideal weather on the day of our wedding, some of our vendors recommended talking to the owner directly about getting our pictures done at Winterholme. My husband went there during the morning of the wedding to get some of the bags brought to the room and to ask about booking the house for photos. We were aware there was a fee for this (around $250 for 2hrs), but were told that if we spoke with the owner we may be able to negotiate a deal. Especially since we were staying there for 2 nights!

My husband spoke with a lady about the early check in, she gave him the back door code and directions to our room, and no other information. When he asked about the photo session booking, she passed him onto the owner, who wasn't budging on the booking price but did let us him know when the house was free that day.

The next morning, after our first night's stay at Winterholme, we knew there was a breakfast but could not find any info about when it was being served. I guess we had missed it by 15 minutes, and the lady was rude to my husband when he inquired about it, claiming that she told him about it the previous day, and were unwilling to accommodate us. There was no guest services book in our room and no staff around, so we did not know where to find cream or sugar for our in-room coffee maker, no information about the spa services. There wasn't even a pen or a scrap of paper around to take a message.

As for the room itself, the more time I spent in it, the more disappointed I was. The room needs some updating as the wall coverings are not as glamorous as those downstairs, and they really need to remove all those fake plastic plants - very tacky. The paint was peeling in the bathroom, and there was no less than 8 fake plants in here. We had a large jet-tub which was great, but the tap was too short to reach the tub and water kept spilling onto the floor! The carpeted bathroom floor!!

When we returned to the house later that day, we parked in front as there was no parking in the back. Our arms were full with a variety of items, so we buzzed at the front door to be let in. The owner came out to let us in, he asked us if we were checking in. We said no, we checked in yesterday, we got married yesterday, then he asked us if we had forgotten the code to the back door! Very rude, especially since this was coming from the owner.

This stay could have been absolutely amazing, we were really looking forward to it, but between the lack of customer service and the poor room amenities, we will not be returning and will not be recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank u2addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Anyone who has left a positive review on the Winterholme must have checked in to the B&B and spent the whole stay self-sufficiently inside their room.

Upon arrival for spa services, we noticed that the property is run-down and neglected but we were willing to pass this off as "old charm". We were soon brought to our massage room which had one small window at the end and offered no circulation of air. I have never been known to complain about heat (and in Newfoundland that would be unheard of) but this was ridiculous. Through the tiny window we were able to see individuals outside, who could presumably see us as we disrobed for our massage. The massage itself was ok, but it was apparent that the estheticians were not professionally trained, no RMTs here.

We had ordered champagne, however, there were no champagne flutes available so we were served a full bottle of champagne in two large wine goblets. Not a big deal to most, but a major annoyance for me.

We also planned to have pedicures during the visit. During the visit one member of our party was cut by the esthetician and did not receive an apology. She simply stated "oh, I nicked you there". Upon mentioning showering upon completion the services (which had been prearranged since we do not live in St. John's and were unable to drive since we were drinking champagne) the estheticians verbally attacked us, refused us our previously arranged shower. We spoke to the owner who also disregarded our request. During this discussion, the esthetician refused to finish our services and left the premises. This left us full of massage oil, with a partial pedicure, and nowhere to go. We had to finish our own pedicures and clean ourselves up with the owner frequently knocking on the door to hurry us out.

Upon asking for an apology we received a shoulder shrug from the owner. We then courteously requested a partial refund for the portion of the service that we did not receive, the owner turned his back to us, refused to respond and showed us to the door. Upon requesting a partial refund for a second time, and ensuring once again that we were courteous, he threatened to call the police. We informed both owners that we would not strongly recommend against their establishment to the wide spread population we have access to through our jobs if we were to leave unsatisfied. We received only utter disrespect, disregard and a lack of concern from both parties.

This experience was intended to be a bonding experience and it left us feeling frustrated, disgusted and disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DreamVacationer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
825 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
327 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monastery Spa & Suites
#21 of 22 in St. John's
158 reviews
Rendell - Shea Manor
#1 of 25 in St. John's
246 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winterholme Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterholme Suites & Spa

Address: 79 Rennie's Mill Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn, spa, Heritage Structure, National Historic Site, and one of the most recognized (and recognizable) inns in St. John's, NL. Welcome to Winterholme. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winterholme Hotel St. John`s
Winterholme Suites And Spa
Winterholme Suites & Spa Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing