We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifull & Inviting home-special retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winterholme Suites & Spa
Ranked #15 of 23 St. John's B&B and Inns
Mount Pearl, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifull & Inviting home-special retreat”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have been to the Winterholm on several occasions and each time is a special retreat.I do not understand the negative complains-some people all they do is complain abt. everything.This is a very old Victorian home the woodwork and design and décor is Beautifull,I find the personal sentimental collections like the Christmas ornaments a personal charm to the lady of the house,if you want a modern décor go somewhere else like a hotel with modern plain jane décor.The complaints abt. being let in to the back door because there is a wedding in the main entry is petty & rediculas,to complain about,I myself and my husband had to enter the back because there was a wedding going on-it didn't bother us at all,what else would you expect,I certainly didn't expect to walk through a wedding that I wasn't attending or invited to.The owners and staff are very delightfull and welcoming as well.Guard of the work being done in the back again what do you expect,I have attended the Winterholm while construction was going on-we just closed the curtains and ignored it..We enjoyed our stay and will look forward in staying again.Guard of peeling paint,maybe there is-but I certainly wouldn't downgrade the place because a old heritage home is starting to age a bit-it takes time to do repairs,just like when a person ages and gets old a positive person looks past that and enjoys the beauty within.

Room Tip: Every room that we have attended is different and a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Winterholme Suites & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
What a kind note. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    29
    10
    12
    11
See reviews for
4
73
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after flying into St John's and before embarking on a 10 driving tour of Newfoundland. The house is a wonderful Victorian mansion...the exterior needs attention but the interior is lovely. It looks like they are building on additional rooms at the rear of the house. Our room (#5) was comfortably large, the king bed was very comfortable and overall we'd have no complaints about the room. The TV worked fine and so did the internet. The bath has a jacuzzi tub with shower and climbing in is a bit of an acrobatic feat since the tub is raised up on a platform. The sink has seen better days and was missing the closing mechanism. We arrived late afternoon and were nicely greeted with lots of what-to-do type info. Since the place is run more like an inn than a B&B there were a series of people over the 4 days, I don't think we ever saw the same person twice, and frequently had to go hunting to find someone. The Breakfast was a mixed bag -- cold cereal and whole fruit (apples and banana's ok...but a whole grapefruit?? Really.) There was juice and coffee etc but the "hot food table" was a surprise each day. The first day was poached eggs and some type of bacon/egg bready thing. The second day was a quiche of sorts and fried bologna. The third day was french toast and some type of fried meat. I wold definitely not go there for the b'fast and was really glad I'd travelled with some hard boiled eggs as back-up. We rarely saw any other guests except in passing so our hope of meeting some other travelers who might have good advice to share never came to be. The place is a bit of a hike from downtown but really quite doable for people who like to walk (we do). I'd certainly recommend the place...but with caveats.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FingerLakesTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Winterholme Suites & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
We were in a bit of transition when you were here, but the addition is complete, and we’re almost done repainting the property, so Winterholme’s exterior will again match the beauty of her interior. Thank-you for the review. All feedback is useful to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous old mansion in a historic neighbourhood location, but unfortunately a 15 minutes walk to pretty much anything and totally lacking in hospitality. We arrived late at night to let ourselves into the room. The next day there was no acknowledgement of our arrival, no offer of help, no orientation to city. (Hours later after asking, we did get an orientation to the facilities.) The breakfast was marginal -a buffet featuring stale muffins and an egg dish (and bologna!!?) sitting out for hours. In general the house is getting worn looking and tired although our room was lovely and quite well appointed (except for the old pillows and frustrating plumbing). Service was minimal- our room wasn't even serviced on the first day. One morning when we went for breakfast the room was still cluttered with wine bottles and dirty dishes from a private party the night before! Getting DVDs for the room after 9 was not an option because the office had closed. Worst was the fact that we (all guests) had to enter the house through the back door. What could have been great was very disappointing.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Merrytraveller44a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Winterholme Suites & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
We’re sorry to hear that the service was not up to our usual standard, and thank you for your feedback, which we always take seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This Heritage home (1905) has plently of potential, but whoever the current owner is they are not concerned with upkeep. We should have known when it was the only place on the street not to have cut their lawns. The lawns and gardens were waist high and filled with weeds. At the back of the house the weeds were also accompanied by construction debris from the owner's residence being added to the back of the inn. Inside beyond the front lobby which is spectacular, further decline was evident and included: peeling wall-paper and paint, cracks in the wall, repaired walls which were then painted with mis-matched paint. The dining room had two holes in the wall where wall sconces had been removed. Most disgusting were the bed linens, which were worn and stained beyond belief. The staff seem to have given up, and it appears their attitude, may have filtered down from the ownership/management. This was not only the worst accomodation we had in all of Newfoundland, but probably among the worst in all of our travels. This may have been a jewel at one-time, but it is badly tarnished now. I hope it is in the owners plans to restore this property to its past glory, but until this is done, be prepared to be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Winterholme Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place to stay in St John's Newfoundland. It is very quiet and fairly close to the downtown area. The rooms are large and have jacuzzis and fireplaces. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Cheryl recommended some amazing restaurants and Chris was very also helpful in giving us information about St. John's. My husband and I stayed at Winterholme in 1999 and we always wanted to go back.

Room Tip: If you are a senior and have mobility issues, ask for a room on the main floor and a room with a sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have went to Winterholme twice for their spa services with one of my girlfriends. Both times were absolutely amazing! The house is absolutely beautiful, and the area we received our spa services in was gorgeous! We got to share a little room for just the two of us. It was very relaxing, and we had a great time! The girls we had each time (facials once, pedicures once) were phenomenal! Definitely recommend. It is the only place in the city that I will go for spa services. Great prices too! Excellent value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jholmes52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff were great rooms were very clean and done up well
Everyone was very helpful in making our stay enjoyable as well as the spa staff
Living in a part of history was very enjoyable and very close to the downtown core of one of the Greatest City's in the World the Hospitably of St Johns Newfoundland was great very friendly people

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winterholme Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterholme Suites & Spa

Property: Winterholme Suites & Spa
Address: 79 Rennie's Mill Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn, spa, Heritage Structure, National Historic Site, and one of the most recognized (and recognizable) inns in St. John's, NL. Welcome to Winterholme. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winterholme Suites And Spa
Winterholme Hotel St. John`s
Winterholme Suites & Spa Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing