We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great - especially for a rainy day”
Review of Quidi Vidi Brewery

Quidi Vidi Brewery
Ranked #12 of 93 things to do in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great - especially for a rainy day”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We visited the brewery with our 3 year old son (he stuck with orange juice!) and we did the tasting session. It lasted about an hour and we tried all of the beers they make with a good explanation of each one, and some info on the island and St Johns as well. Interesting and good value considering the amount you actually get to try! Nice spot too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harrib0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    81
    20
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great tour and samples”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I arranged for a group tour for some fellow cruise ship passengers. I was truly impressed with the amount of beer we were given to sample before the tour, and then we had a free bottle of beer at the end as well. The guide (I forget her name, sorry) did a good job of explaining the brewing process, the advertising campaigns (the old prof is a hoot) and just showing us a good time. The tasting room has a pretty view of the Quidi Vidi harbour to enjoy during the introduction.

This was much more worthwhile than what they call a "tour" at the Guinness warehouse in Dublin, for sure!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nanner08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fanstastic, thank you Hugh”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We showed up on a Saturday in November and no tours were available until Monday. But...Hugh stepped up and gave us a custom tour himself! We went through the backroom operations and the distillery tour was phenomenal. We bought Iceberg beer to take home with us (the bottles are blue). Interesting, fun, and appreciated the friendliness!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CoolTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“They offer tours”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I did the Quidi Vidi Brewery tour a little while ago and it was super interesting. They give you a sample of all the beers they make and then you get to take one with you. The brewery is small (it's a microbrewery), but it's cute and they allow you to have a look at all the machines. I found the history more interesting than the tours though, as the machines are just large vats and it doesn't take more than a minute to walk through and see them all. I think it was $10 each to get in, and kids can come in for free since they can't drink the beer. They ask that you call in advance to register for the tour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MerwenPendragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Took a tour of the brewery and the gift shop. Enjoyed a beer and the wonderful view. They even have room to hold weddings or wakes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quidi Vidi Brewery also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Quidi Vidi Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing