We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing major to complain about - not a lot to rave about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murray Premises Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster County, PA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nothing major to complain about - not a lot to rave about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

This is an adequate, non-chain hotel in a good location in the city. It's situated back a bit off a main street, so we had no problem with noise from the street. There was no construction going on at the time we were there. The staff was okay. The breakfast was acceptable. Rooms were not at all cookie cutter because this is an older hotel with some charming features.

Overall, we didn't dislike it, but we thought there were better places to stay in St. Johns in the same price category and would probably choose another hotel when visiting this city again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    153
    50
    14
    4
See reviews for
36
285
19
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

After reading previous reviews and looking at pictures on the Hotel's Web pages, we had great expectations. Other than friendly staff and a great down town location, we were thorougly disappointed.
We had a $250/night room so expected more than basics. Believe the local Holiday Inn would have provided more! Carpets in the room were dirty and stained. Towels small and worn. Bed creaky. Electric fire place did not work and even after advising staff after the first night, it was not attended to. BUT worst of all, the room had no hot water. When we complained after the first night, we were told the hotel had been having troubles with their boilers, with some rooms not having hot water. We were ready to move out, but were assured in the afternoon they had fixed the problem. Indeed in the afternoon there was hot water. Alas when we went to enjoy the jacuzzi tub in the evening there was none and neither was there any for showers the next morning.
When complaining the second morning, there was little empathy. When we asked for compensation, the front desk clerk agreed to make a small reduction on our bill. After indicating it was insufficient and requesting the matter be referred to management did we get the message they would reduce our $500 bill by $80.00.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

The exterior and public areas of this heritage building were fully up to what we expected. Our room was on the third floor on the water side. It was a large room with a large bathroom, but a lot of space was unusable because of the sloping mansard roof. The room was as well-furnished as we expected - desk, desk chair, armchair, electric fireplace, wardrobe containing the TV, table. It was better designed for one person than two: the closet was very small, there was only one bedside table, one lamp and one bathrobe. Although it was advertised as a Queen-sized bed, it was the poorest we had in Newfoundland, with a soft mattress which made it seem narrower. Lighting was not that great. Together with the small window the room was dark and gloomy both by day and night. Some track lighting would have improved it greatly. There was no suitcase stand: we asked for two but only eventually got one. There was an ironing board and iron, very welcome after a week of B & Bs. The carpet in the room was badly stained.
The bathroom was very well-appointed. It was large, well-lit (including good lights for shaving). There was a large, raised jacuzzi tub, lots of counter space, a heated towel warmer and lots of toiletries. However, there wasn’t any hot water - neither in the evening nor in the morning.
The included continental breakfast was below average. There was not a lot of choice. It was saved by having hard boiled eggs available. However, the croissants were soggy and there was no cream cheese for the bagels. Some fruit would have livened up the table.
As mentioned by previous reviewers, there is construction along Harbour Drive which has an impact on the hotel and it looks like it will continue for awhile longer. Beck’s Cove was completely closed and the hotel was using entrances from Water Street and the parking lot. We didn’t find that construction noise bothered us inside, or spoiled the view, although it made reaching the parking lot more challenging. The front desk’s instructions on how to get to the parking were vague for a newcomer to the city. A handout sketch map would have been useful.
It’s worth noting that the view of the harbour is not as great here as from the hotels closer to the harbour entrance, where shipping is busier. On the other hand, Murray Premises is really convenient to shopping, most restaurants and the George St. pub strip.
We had one dinner at the Hungry Fishermen restaurant within the hotel. Although we didn’t have a reservation, on a Friday evening, we were quickly seated in a quiet alcove. Service was prompt and the food - lobster bisque followed by pan-fried cod - was some of the best we had in Newfoundland, although a bit pricey.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rideau-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

Positive:
Downtown location
Nicely restored building
Spacious room /executive/

Negative:
The reception staff was polite, but not helpful:
- they would not even attempt to contact housekeeping to check the status of the room /if ready for check in/
- they did not give me a wake up call as requested - "the system did not alert us", /having said that, they at least apologized/
There was one red hair on my pillow and one on the bathroom towel
- the breakfast consisted of cold boiled eggs, two types of cereal and cheddar cheese

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc12345Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

We spent 5 nights at the Murray Premises during a recent trip to St. John's. We were put in a corner room in the new section on the first night. At 5 a.m. the upstairs neighbours turned the TV on and you could hear every word of the CBC news channel for 2 hours. At 7 a.m., the road construction started up on 2 sides of the room directly beside us. Needless to say, we asked to change rooms and relocated to the older section, away from the road construction. However, the upstairs neighbours in this room were hosting a "guest suite" for a convention so also noisy. We were at least able to sleep in this room, though.

The rooms themselves are decent and certainly the place has potential since it is a charming historic building. The bedding is rather scratchy and uncomfortable, though. Service was all right but certainly nobody ever went too far out of their way for us. Personally, I thought the place was overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

This is advertised as a "boutique hotel." It has that potential - but needs a long way to go. The positives - the hotel is in a great location with fair continental breakfast, rustic architecture with beautiful exposed beams and nice views of the harbour. The rest is bad.

This hotel had the street being torn apart in front for the past few months - not their fault, but they should warn and give a rebate. From 6:45 am to 5 pm, there was constant noise, with the room literally shaking at times. There were stains on the carpet and some noise in the night from I suspect a cooling unit on the roof - the result was constant low-frequency humming (bring your earplugs).

Finally, on one day, our room wasn't cleaned despite us being out for a chunk of the day. The next day, when we had an evening outing planned, we asked our room to be cleaned when we left at 8:30 am (again, waking up at 6:45 am from the construction). When we returned at 5:00 pm, we were politely explained that they clean for new arrivals first.

At $230 per night and apparently 4 stars, this hotel & the service do not cut it. If you're in a pinch and need a room or if you want a good location and don't care about service/ accomodation, this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MD71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl, NL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

All I can say is WOW! The Hotel is absolutely beautiful. The room was absolutely beautiful. Done to a tee. Nothing could be changed.

The front desk staff!!! AMAZING. They were so pleasant, called me by name when they saw me, just an absolute delight. I truly felt like a princess, which is what I needed for my mini vacation.

Keep up the great work!!!! 2 thumbs up (if I had more, I’d use those also). It was an absolute delight to stay at Murray Premises and I cannot wait to spread the word to my family and friends.

Thanks so much for making my weekend a time to remember!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripnl1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Premises Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Premises Hotel

Property: Murray Premises Hotel
Address: Murray Premises 5 Beck's Cove | Box 208, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Murray Premises Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown St. John's on the harbour front you'll find Murray Premises Hotel. Nestled in the heart of St. John's business district, close to all amenities - restaurants (2 independent located inside the hotel), shopping, night life and tourist attractions. Murray Premises Hotel is walking distance from Mile One Centre, St. John's Convention Centre, Historic Signal Hill, and the exciting night life of George Street. All guest rooms have luxury items such as electric fireplaces, oversized whirlpool tubs, and towel warmers. The Hotel's Executive Rooms offer guests luxury accommodations with two-person air massage tubs, full-body showers, stone fireplaces, and heated floors. All guests can enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast in our private lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murray Premises Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Premises St Johns
Hotel Murray Premises
Murray Premises Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing