We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murray Premises Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Albert
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Murray Premises to begin our Honeymoon in beautiful Newfoundland (The remainder of the week was spent in Gros Morne National Park.) The service at this hotel was great, and staff were friendly, accomodating and willing lend a hand or advice. The rooms were huge by most hotel standards and ours was a equipped a jacuzzi tub, comfortable king sized bed, fireplace, flat screen tv, and giant bathroom with marble shower that also had body spray nozzles. The location was perfect, being right on the harbour, and with easy access to Water Street where there are number of restaurants, shops and nightlife. Hands down this was probably the best place to stay Downtown - especially if your looking for something a little bit different than the standard chains, but still want to be within the City. The only negative thing was construction currently in front of the Hotel and due to the old industrial nature of the orignal building we heard people in the room above playing music and walking around.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank secorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    159
    51
    14
    4
See reviews for
36
291
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Oh yes, people, 3 hours in a jacuzzi... fire place flickering... champagne and chocolates... then a long hot multi jet shower... then a nice hot towel from the towel heater to keep you warm along with the heated bathroom marble tile floors and a terry robe... then hop in your down duvet'd king size bed to wake up to a generous complimentary continental breakfast that you can bring back to your room... don't tell me this isn't the lap of luxury!

We only stayed one night and it was amazing. There are tons of mouth watering restaurants in downtown St. John's to choose from (Steak, Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Mexican, Vegetarian) plus a few great coffee shops (I live here so I know!); all within walking distance. Not to mention there is George Street... there will never be "nothing" to do here whether you just want to stay in your room or spend a night on the town. The Murray Premesis is tucked into a nook across from George St. but far enough away so that you don't hear the bustle of the night life.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBoBarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

We would recommend the Murray Premises for it's central location, friendly staff and quiet and comfortable premises.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star-Framily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We stayed at the Murray Premises for 6 days in mid-July.
The facility is first rate. Our room was quite large with a jacuzzi tub.
The room was thoroughly renovated, with all facilities totally
modernized. The shower was a large walk-in. Bathroom sink was
quite roomy. WiFi in the room. A comfy King bed. Cable TV with
about 40 channels. The air conditioning was quite responsive.
An electric fireplace with a remote! Housecleaning was perfect as
was the front desk help. I can not imagine friendlier service.
As I recall, I did not hear anyone in an adjacent room during the
entire 6 days. Parking was a breeze. The was always plenty of room in the Murray's lot. They have their own parking lot adjoining the
hotel. I asked the desk clerk if we needed a parking sticker (as is
usual in the U.S.) He said, "No, just tell the girl in the booth you
are staying here." We tried one of the two restaurants: The Bean.
Tasty, but the portions were small and a bit overpriced. There are
at least a dozen restaurants within 3 blocks as well as pub grub
at the bars on George Street one block away. Good Irish/Newfie
live music at Kelly's Pub.

The location beats the Marriott and the Fairmont, which are at
the East end of Water Street. Our room (second floor) looked
across the street at the harbor and the Keg restaurant (A
Canadian steakhouse chain). There was a nice harbor-view
deck at the Keg. They had pretty good appetizers and my wife
had one of the best lobsters she's ever eaten.

The Murray Premises is not cheap. We paid $239 per night and
there is a 13.25% tax on everything in Newfoundland. But I think it was worth it. I highly recommend the Murray Premises and we
would certainly return.

  • Liked — Service, cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ateacherIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel twice now once in June 2007 and once over New Year 07/08.

Both times the staff have been wonderful, it really is a hotel to be treasured. I have travel to a few countries and the St. John's welcome has surpass them all,

The hotel room are gorgeous with the old beams and the fire. The bathroom was suberb I really enjoyed the jucuzzi and the hot towel rail was a nice touch

I will definitely be going back and hopefully will manage this year. Last year was the first time that I had visited Canada and I'm glad that I picked St. John's for my first taste of this delightfully country.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Absolutely Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.john's
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2008

The room was fabulous. We dined at the Hungry Fisherman and the meal was probably the best I’ve ever had, friendly service with a great comfortable atmosphere. The servers were really nice and my 3 year old daughter (Vanessa) dined with us and they were really friendly and sweet to her. The next morning we checked out the complimentary breakfast which was also good. Vanessa loved every minute of it. She didn’t want to leave on Sunday. From her own words “it’s cozy mom – I love it”. That basically sums up how we felt about our stay.

Will return when in St. John's. Would highly recommend property.

  • Liked — food and room
  • Disliked — had no issues with property
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bevstjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander NL
Level Contributor
185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

This was our third stay at the Murray Premises Hotel, two in the past 6 months. Just a 4 hour drive from home but after a night in the white bathrobes, jacuzzi and admiring the Harbour view from out king sized bed, it feels like we had a week away.
Merlo's Press and Bean is a fabulous restaurant on site, Portobello's a stroll up the hill (and luckily downhill to get home after that great meal).
Across the road from George St. and all the action of clubs and live entertainment but not at all noisy on harbour side.
The price of the room saves you a small fortune in taxis because you're on site to experience St. John's.
Liquor store on site as well as some nice shopping all around on Water St. Continental breakfast is lovely with coffee and Coronation St. on a Sunday morning.
Careful of the upright wooden support beams if you're wandering in the dark. Electric fireplace serves as a lovely 'night light'. See their site for pictures and virtual tour.

  • Liked — Downtown access to restaurants and entertainment
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LazydaysGanderNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Premises Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Premises Hotel

Property: Murray Premises Hotel
Address: Murray Premises 5 Beck's Cove | Box 208, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Murray Premises Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown St. John's on the harbour front you'll find Murray Premises Hotel. Nestled in the heart of St. John's business district, close to all amenities - restaurants (2 independent located inside the hotel), shopping, night life and tourist attractions. Murray Premises Hotel is walking distance from Mile One Centre, St. John's Convention Centre, Historic Signal Hill, and the exciting night life of George Street. All guest rooms have luxury items such as electric fireplaces, oversized whirlpool tubs, and towel warmers. The Hotel's Executive Rooms offer guests luxury accommodations with two-person air massage tubs, full-body showers, stone fireplaces, and heated floors. All guests can enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast in our private lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Murray Premises Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Premises St Johns
Hotel Murray Premises
Murray Premises Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing