We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can walk everywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murray Premises Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Really nice feel to this hotel, huge room, lots of character without feeling precious or fake. Right in town so we walked everywhere we needed/wanted to go. Could hear music and noise from the pubs on Saturday night, but it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank middleagedandgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and its location. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 621 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have stayed at Murray Premises numerous times and each time, the room offered a unique and comfortable stay. From amazing modern multi body jet showers to large corner jacuzzi tubs Murray Premises delivers on room diversity. All the rooms I have stayed in had fireplace, super comfortable beds, and the service has been well above the typical hotel! Don't miss out on this hotel...it's close to everything and just minutes to all the major restaurants and George Street.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section...can"t go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Carl,
Thanks for the great comments, we're delighted you enjoy all the amenities the hotel has to offer. We certainly appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay that has it all, then look no further. If you are in town for business or pleasure, Murray Premise is conveniently located in the heart of St John's making everything a short walk. The spacious rooms are stunning and each possess a unique character that makes it easy to understand why this hotel is one of St John's historic properties. The free continental breakfast and parking make this already competitively priced hotel an outstanding deal. The friendly and courteous staff have no boundaries in exhausting all efforts to make your stay as memorable as possible. Staying at Murray Premise has become part of my "St John's" experience!! Can't wait for my next stay!

Kristin M

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Kristin,
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are delighted the hotel has become your home away from home. We're glad you enjoy all the hotel has to offer and appreciate the lovely comments about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Located right down town. Stay here and walk every where. This place has it all, excellent rooms, excellent cleaniness, awesome and helpful staff. The shower and bath rooms are huge in the room I stayed in and the breakfast is a good way to start your day. The patio bar during the summer months is an excellent venue to start the George Street shuffle. I will recommend this hotel to anyone who is coming to St.John's.

Ben H

Room Tip: rooms in the seperate section are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Ben
Thanks for the great review, we're so glad you like our little hotel and all it has to offer! We look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is my favorite hotel, when my children don`t travel with me, in St. John`s. It is a business travelers dream. Spacious, comfortable rooms with all the amenities. Rooms steeped in history and strategically placed in the beautiful downtown core of the oldest city in North America = an amazing experience. Rates are good also. Check them out, you will thank me!

Ian Davidson

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elevation02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Ian,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments, we are delighted you enjoy our hotel and all it offers. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great hotel. Room is very generous in size. Jacuzzi bath is fantastic after a long day. The continental breakfast is always served with a smile! Room is cleaned every day to a high standard. All the staff at reception greet us every day with a smile and hello and are very helpful with anything you need.

Hope to be back again soon

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grampianchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, I'll certainly pass along your comments to our wonderful staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel sits right on the waterfront in St. John's harbour.
We could look right into the ships anchored for the night.
The hotel is close to shopping (1 block), great restaurants and entertainment.
The hotel beds are cosy with a fireplace in our room and a wonderful bathroom with walk-in shower.
The robe in the closet was a welcomed surprise.
Lots of room to work on the desk and plug-ins to charge everything.
The staff helped with a twinkle in their eyes - how nice.
I have to return in the future!

Room Tip: Get a room with the walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remerson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and all aspects of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
342 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
856 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 24 in St. John's
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta Hotels by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Monastery Spa & Suites
#22 of 24 in St. John's
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Premises Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Premises Hotel

Address: Murray Premises 5 Beck's Cove | Box 208, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $131 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Murray Premises Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown St. John's on the harbour front you'll find Murray Premises Hotel. Nestled in the heart of St. John's business district, close to all amenities - restaurants (2 independent located inside the hotel), shopping, night life and tourist attractions. Murray Premises Hotel is walking distance from Mile One Centre, St. John's Convention Centre, Historic Signal Hill, and the exciting night life of George Street. All guest rooms have luxury items such as electric fireplaces, oversized whirlpool tubs, and towel warmers. The Hotel's Executive Rooms offer guests luxury accommodations with two-person air massage tubs, full-body showers, stone fireplaces, and heated floors. All guests can enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast in our private lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Murray Premises Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Premises St Johns
Hotel Murray Premises
Murray Premises Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing