We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful rooms, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murray Premises Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful rooms, helpful staff”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Generally not a hotel targeted towards families, but when I had to be there for business they very nicely accomodated my family of four by putting us in a spacious room and adding two cots for my 8 and 4 year olds. Ther was still plenty of space, and the room was gorgeous. It had a courtyard view, so there was some noise in the evening, but we didn't hear it other than in the washroom as fan etc made it unnoticable in rest of room. Lovely fireplace, stone walls, large in-room fridge, sitting area, whirlpool tub, lots of great features. Finishings were all lovely, "character" rooms with exposed brick and beams, etc. Great location on the harbour and Water Street, can walk to lots.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad we were able to accommodate your family while you were here for your conference and you enjoyed the spacious room. We certainly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    162
    52
    14
    4
See reviews for
36
298
19
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here June 13th till the 18th. 2012. This was our 1st trip to Newfoundland(St.John's) and we could not of made a better choice for a place to stay. We had a early arrival time so we were early for check in, but the staff at the front desk took care of our bags and had our room cleaned right away. We went out for a bite to eat and when we came back our room was ready along with our bags taken up. (we had golf bags as well) The rooms were very nice and I loved our towel warmer lol. One thing that was great is we were in walking distance from everthing from shops,dinning,Signal Hill ect. Over all the hotel was clean and all staff was great. They helped us out with calling cabs, making our tee off times,making calls for us for boat tours and even holding the door when we came back from golf. Always with a smile and how did it go. I would come here again anytime and stay. Thank-you Murray Premises for such great friendly service. It made our visit all the more better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyGoLucky4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much taking the time to post your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are certainly appreciative of the kind words. As your first experience to St. John's was so enjoyable, we hope you'll be back to visit soon (I know a couple more golf courses you need to try!!). We look forward to having you back with us again. Regards, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here for one night, in suite 300. The suite was very big and i even had two bathrooms side by side, which was unusual but i guess good if you stay with your wife and you write one off..
The service was friendly and helpful.
The price seemed good value for the quality of the suite.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NeilNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We're glad you liked Room 300, next time we'll have to get you to try our executive suite with two person air massage tub! Thanks again for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again. Regards, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I have an amazing stay at the Murray Premises a little while ago. We live in the St. John's area, but we like to get away for a night or two every now and again, and this was without a doubt the best hotel yet. From the outstanding service given by all staff, down to the bath robes, it was a great place to be. The hotel is literally just a few steps away from the heart of downtown (great shopping and night life) which makes it an ideal hotel to stay with. They offer a wide variety for a continental breakfast (different fruits, cheese, eggs, bagels, etc..) instead of just toast and cereal like other places around town.
The room itself was breath taking. The walls (some brick) and beams along the ceiling looks very modern yet historic, and the wood furniture is breath taking. The fireplace also added a romantic touch to the room.
We will without a doubt be staying at the Murray Premises again in the near future. It is a beautiful spot, and is priced with great value. Highly recommended spot!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for another little getaway soon!! Regards, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Murray Premises Hotel last weekend. The service was very friendly and warm and the room was impeccable. The housekeeping staff is to be commended. We loved everything about it. All the amenities and the little touches were greatly appreciated, fireplace, thick bathrobes, water bottles in the refrigerator, towel warmers in the bathroom and free internet access to name a few. The continental breakfast was lovely as well. Several kinds of bread, cheeses, boiled eggs (still hot!), fresh fruit, etc. Not just a couple of boxes of cereal on a table.
The hotel is downtown and is literally just a fewsteps outside to all the great restaurants, bars and shops. The Keg is right behind the hotel and the Mile One Centre (We were in for theTom Petty concert!) is just a couple of streets above. Staying here was perfect because we didn't have to deal with the traffic and the throngs of people looking for cabs for the ride home afterwards. For you barhoppers, George Street is again, literally, just outside the Mile One.
Thank you MPH and Jordan, for a fabulous experience. We certainly recommend The Murray Premises Hotel to everyone and will stay with them again in the future. Well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GanderGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay. I have posted your review in our staff room for our staff to see as well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I went to St.John's for a 4 day trip, the first in several years without the children.
The Murray Premises was a great place to stay! The rooms all have brick and wooden beam features and are beautiful. Throughout the common areas there are pictures of the building when it was a fish processing plant. I loved the historic element of the building and the character that it had. The hotel is right in the heart of the downtown, steps from shopping and restaurants.
I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in St.Johns.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of our little boutique hotel in this beautifully renovated, national historic building. Hopefully you'll have a chance to get away soon and come visit again.
Thanks, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have thoroughly enjoyed the Murray premises during each of our stays. The hotel is exceptionally clean and staff are kind and helpful. Many modern day amenities, yet in a classic setting. We especially enjoyed the ambiance of the fireplace. Would highly recommend and will return!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigleyandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for posting these lovely comments, we're so glad you enjoy the hotel and look forward to your next visit!!
Thanks, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
268 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
693 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Premises Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Premises Hotel

Property: Murray Premises Hotel
Address: Murray Premises 5 Beck's Cove | Box 208, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Murray Premises Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown St. John's on the harbour front you'll find Murray Premises Hotel. Nestled in the heart of St. John's business district, close to all amenities - restaurants (2 independent located inside the hotel), shopping, night life and tourist attractions. Murray Premises Hotel is walking distance from Mile One Centre, St. John's Convention Centre, Historic Signal Hill, and the exciting night life of George Street. All guest rooms have luxury items such as electric fireplaces, oversized whirlpool tubs, and towel warmers. The Hotel's Executive Rooms offer guests luxury accommodations with two-person air massage tubs, full-body showers, stone fireplaces, and heated floors. All guests can enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast in our private lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murray Premises Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Premises St Johns
Hotel Murray Premises
Murray Premises Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing