We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee shop chic in downtown St. John's”

Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food
Ranked #4 of 378 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Rocket Bakery & Fresh Food offers scrumptious, made-from-scratch handmade breads, desserts, prepared hot and cold specialties, excellent coffee and food-lover groceries in a warm, casual, heritage space at 272 Water Street in downtown St. John's. Try our no-flour-added soups, salads and desserts, too!
Marrakech, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coffee shop chic in downtown St. John's”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My other favourite place to visit whenever I'm in St. John's now. One of the few places I can get an excellent almond milk tea latte.

Excellent location, wonderful to see this place as a community centre in the heart of downtown St. John's. Great place to work, hang out, meet friends or grab lunch. Open late regularly which is nice.

Love the blending of local treats / classics being given the cafe / bistro twist. The Newfoundland kitchen-style decor gives the place such a delightfully familiar and cozy feeling.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    275
    65
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
1 review
“Soaking Up the Local Culture”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our experience at Rocket was memorable all the way around, so much so that we went there three times while in St. John's. The food was great...loved the breakfast croissants, chicken pot pie, pulled pork turnovers, cinnamon buns, and more, plus the coffee was great! We were treated warmly by the staff, as well. And be sure to go on a Tuesday and you'll be treated to live traditional Newfoundland music to enjoy along with your meal. In short, Rocket is a must-see while in St. John's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and yummy!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Love the interior. Great place to relax, chat with friends over a meal, or have latte and a treat! There are lunch/dinner options, bakes goods, coffee/tea/lattes, friendly atmosphere, etc. Fun decor!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rocking The Rock”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

It's not often you go into a cafe and you feel that everything is right but this is one of those places. It mixes excellent coffee, fabulous home-baking, a superb food selection and a laid-back atmosphere.

The coffee was some of the best espresso, no scratch that, was the best espresso I've had in Canada. Well balanced and the server got the milk for a latte spot on each time.

On the meals front, I had the pulled-pork turnover (we would call it a pasty back in the UK) with molasses sauce and it was so good I probably inhaled it. My wife had the salt cod fish cakes with a side salad and they were equally as good.

The place really does go like a rocket and justifiably so. We were only in St. John's for a few days but ended up there most days.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“OMG I WISH WE HAD ONE IN TORONTO - WOULD BE THERE ALL THE TIME”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

From breakfast to lunch, to packing a lunch for a hike - we were there all the time. Amazing desserts, and foccacia breads, wraps and sandwiches, different and healthy salads, amazing cappuccinos, and all served by friendly people and fast service. A well organized and thought out operation. A little pricey, but worth eating fresh and healthy and different options with great service. Keep up the great work by all - thank you Rocket for an amazing experience. Miss you

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappygoluckyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing